golf-women-d2 flag

Lynn Athletics | April 15, 2014

Lynn captures first Sunshine State Conference crown

DADE CITY, Fla. -- Lynn's top-ranked squad won the Sunshine State Conference championship for the first time in program history with a team score of 897 on the par-72, 6175-yard course at Lake Jovita Golf & Country Club. The Fighting Knights shot a 305 in the final round to win by a four-stroke margin above Rollins. Jessica Bradley and Louise Manalo both shot 54-hole scores of 222 to finish in a three-way tie for fourth place earning all-tournament honors.

Heading in to the final round of the 54-hole tournament, Lynn held a nine shot lead over Rollins. Irene Calvo and Samantha Smolen both led the team shooting 75 in the final round of the championship. Louise Manalo played a consistent first two rounds to sit comfortably in the top-10 with 18 holes to play. She shot a 77 in the final round when she began the day with three birdies and four bogeys to finish her first nine holes 1-over par.

Bradley shot six-over on the day when she fell into some trouble on holes three and six. A clean chip shot on hole nine would put her two feet from the pin where she would end her day with a birdie. Senior Ellen Chambers finished with a 78 in the final round for a 232 final score.

Bradley’s top-5 finish is the second of her career at the SSC championships. Last season the junior from Bishop Nympton, England, finished in second. Along with Manalo, the duo marks the 10th and 11th golfers in Lynn history to earn SSC all-tournament team honors.

The victory marks the sixth tournament win of the spring season and ninth of the 2013-14 year. Rollins finished with a team score of 901 while Barry and Nova Southeastern tied for third place with a 912. Saint Leo slipped to fifth place with a 915 while Florida Southern put together a 924. Florida Tech (928), Tampa (1001) and Eckerd (1102) rounded out the bottom of the field.

NCAA Division II Women’s Golf Committee announces 2023 championship field

The NCAA Division II Women’s Golf Committee announced the teams and individuals that have advanced to the 2023 NCAA Division II Women’s Golf Championships.