golf-women-d3 flag | April 30, 2018

2018 DIII Women's Golf Championships selections revealed

Rhodes College wins the 2017 DIII Women's Golf Championship

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division III Women’s Golf Committee announced 25 teams and six individuals that will participate in the 2018 NCAA Division III Women’s Golf Championships.

Nineteen conferences have been granted automatic qualification and the remaining six teams were selected on an at-large basis from conferences and the remaining independent institutions. Six individuals, not from selected teams, also were selected for the championships.

RELATED: DIII women's golf championship history

The championships will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently. Following 54 holes of competition, the field will be cut to the top 15 teams and top six individuals not on one of those teams to compete the final day.  In the team competition, the low four scores from each team for each day will count in the team’s total score.

The championships will be conducted May 8-11 at Mission Inn Resort and Club in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida. Oglethorpe University and Central Florida Sports Commission will serve as hosts.

The selected teams and individuals are listed below:


  1. George Fox University
  2. Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps
  3. New York University
  4. Williams College
  5. Whitman College
  6. Methodist University
  7. Washington University in St. Louis
  8. Berry College
  9. DePauw University
  10. Carnegie Mellon University
  11. Washington and Lee University
  12. Carleton College
  13. University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
  14. Amherst College
  15. Illinois Wesleyan University
  16. Transylvania University
  17. Saint Mary’s College (Indiana)
  18. University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  19. Wartburg College
  20. University of Mount Union
  21. Alvernia University
  22. Gettysburg College
  23. The College of St. Scholastica
  24. Concordia University (Wisconsin)
  25. Saint Vincent College



  1. Jane Hopkinson-Wood, Wittenberg University
  2. Caroline Ordian, University of Redlands
  3. Christina Herbert, Bridgewater College
  4. Meghan Symonds, University of the South
  5. Christine Piwnica, Bethel University (Minnesota)
  6. Emily Thul, University of St. Thomas (Minnesota)


In 2017, Rhodes College won its third NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championship in program history by two strokes and their third in the last four years with a combined score of 1,217 at Bay Oaks Country Club in Houston, Texas. Runner-up honors went to George Fox University (1,219).  Wittenberg University was third with a 1,229 team total. Bridgewater University (Virginia) junior Christina Herbert earned medalist honors with a two-shot victory over Macy Hubbard from Wittenberg.    

For more information about the 2018 NCAA Division III Women’s Golf Championships, log on to

Omni La Costa Resort & Spa begins renovation of its famed Champions Course

Hanse Golf Course Design kicks off project as resort prepares to host three-consecutive NCAA Division I women’s and men’s golf championships beginning in 2024.

DI women's golf championship finals field to increase in 2023

The DI Competition Oversight Committee approved increasing the field for the finals site of the DI women's championship to 156.

Division I women’s golf championships finals site field size to increase to 27 teams beginning in 2023

The NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Committee announces plan to increase the size of the championship field to 27 teams beginning this upcoming season.