golf-women-d1 flag | May 23, 2018

Arizona finishes off amazing run with national title win over Alabama

Arizona Women's Golf wins 2018 DI National Championship

Arizona's miraculous run through the 2018 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championship culminated in a national title Wednesday evening in Stillwater, Okla.

Two days after surviving Baylor in playoff holes to sneak into the eight-team bracket, the No. 8 seed Wildcats defeated No. 2 seed Alabama 3-2 in the final round of play to clinch their fourth national title in program history and first since 2000.

The final nail in the coffin came on a Haley Moore birdie on the 19th. Alabama's Lakareber Abe won the 18th hole head-to-head against Moore to force the extra hole.

MORE: Final leaderboard | Championship history

UCLA and Alabama controlled the first three rounds of play and entered bracket play as the top two seeds. However, it was Arizona who made noise in bracket play, upsetting No. 1 UCLA in the quarterfinals and No. 5 Stanford in the semifinals to set up the finals matchup against the Crimson Tide. Arizona's national title marks the fourth straight DI women's golf championship claimed by a Pac-12 school.

For a full recap of the 2018 Division I women's golf tournament from Stillwater, Okla., scroll below:

The field for the 2018 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championships, to be conducted May 18-23 at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma, has been determined.

Four regional competitions were held May 7-9 and the top six teams and three individuals not on a qualifying team advanced to the national championships from each regional site. The four regional sites included Austin, Texas; Madison, Wisconsin; San Francisco, California; and Tallahassee, Florida. Of the 384 regional participants, 132 advanced to the finals.

RELATED: What you need to know about the 2018 Championship 

Oklahoma State University will serve as the host of the championships and Golf Channel will provide live coverage for the final three days of the championships May 21, 22 and 23.

The teams and individuals advancing to the 2018 championships finals are listed below.

Austin Regional Site: 


1. Arkansas

2. Texas

3. Auburn

4. Florida

5. Baylor

6. Oklahoma


1. Maddie Szeryk – Texas A&M

2. Rose Huang – Brigham Young

3. Leonie Harm – Houston

Madison Regional Site: 


1. Duke

2. Virginia

3. Southern California

4. Arizona State

5. Ohio State

6. Northwestern


1. Nicole Schroeder – Oregon State

2. Gabby Curtis –Wisconsin

3. Erin Harper – Indiana

San Francisco Regional Site: 


1. Stanford


3. Ole Miss

4. Louisville

5. Kent State

6. Colorado


1. Marthe Wold – California

2. Hira Naveed – Pepperdine

3. Emma Broze – Oklahoma State

Tallahassee Regional Site:


1. Alabama

2. Florida State

3. Furman

4. Arizona

5. Washington

6. Wake Forest


1. Micheala Williams – Tennessee

2. Jillian Hollis – Georgia

3. Jess Yuen – Missouri

Tickets may be purchased in advance at or or by calling the OSU Ticket Office at 877-ALL-4-OSU.

The championship format consists of all 24 teams and 12 individuals completing 54 holes of stroke play, and then the top 15 teams along with the top nine individuals not on an advancing team advance for one additional day of stroke play to determine the top eight teams for match play competition and the 72-hole stroke play individual champion. The top eight teams then compete in match play for the championship.

Live results from the championship can be found online at

Omni La Costa Resort & Spa begins renovation of its famed Champions Course

Hanse Golf Course Design kicks off project as resort prepares to host three-consecutive NCAA Division I women’s and men’s golf championships beginning in 2024.

DI women's golf championship finals field to increase in 2023

The DI Competition Oversight Committee approved increasing the field for the finals site of the DI women's championship to 156.

Division I women’s golf championships finals site field size to increase to 27 teams beginning in 2023

The NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Committee announces plan to increase the size of the championship field to 27 teams beginning this upcoming season.