gymnastics-men-nc flag

College Gymnastics Association | March 17, 2016

Men's gymnastics: CGA Nissen-Emery Award finalists announced

WEST POINT, N.Y. - The eight finalists for the 2016 College Gymnastics Association (CGA) Nissen-Emery Award, considered the Heisman Trophy of Gymnastics, were announced Wednesday.

This year's finalists are Army West Point’s Jesse Glenn, California's Kevin Wolting, Logan Bradly of Illinois, Iowa’s Jack Boyle, Nebraska’s Ethan Lottman, Oklahoma's Kanji Oyama, Penn State's Trevor Howard and Stanford's Brian Knott.

Those in the running include NCAA All-Americans, academic All-Americans, USA Gymnastics Collegiate All-Americans, national champions, scholar athletes, conference champions and National Team members.

This year's winner will be announced during the CGA Awards Banquet, which is being held at the Boat House at Confluence Park on Thursday, April 14th, 8 p.m. ET, in Columbus, Ohio, where the NCAA Championships are being hosted by Ohio State University.

The highest honor in collegiate gymnastics, the Nissen-Emery award has been presented annually since 1966 to an outstanding senior collegiate gymnast based on his achievement, sportsmanship and academic excellence.

The original Nissen Award was named in honor of George Nissen, a former NCAA champion, for his contributions to men's gymnastics. The award was re-named the Nissen-Emery Award in 1998 to honor Dr. Robert Emery, a Penn State graduate, who won the Nissen Award in 1969.

College gymnastics head coaches all across the nation are requested each year to submit nominations for the award. Gymnasts receiving a 50% vote of confidence from the head coaches are then placed on a final ballot and voted upon by the coaches, team captains, Honorary Lifetime Members, and conference judges.

The award is inscribed with the motto: "The true champion seeks excellence physically, mentally, socially and morally."

2016 Nissen-Emery Award Finalists:

Jesse Glenn (Army West Point)
Kevin Wolting (California)
Logan Bradley (Illinois)
Jack Boyle (Iowa)
Ethan Lottman (Nebraska)
Kanji Oyama (Oklahoma)
Trevor Howard (Penn State)
Brian Knott (Stanford)


Stanford wins the 2023 NCAA men's gymnastics national championship

The Stanford Cardinal took home its fourth consecutive NCAA men's gymnastics national championship.

2023 National Collegiate Men’s Gymnastics Championships Selections

The 2023 National Collegiate Men’s Gymnastics Championships qualifier selections were announced today by the NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Committee