April 12, 2010


National Championship Rotation Schedule | Regional Results | Gymnastics Blog


INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA announced today the teams and individuals that qualified to compete for the 2010 National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships.

The championships, hosted by the University of Florida, will be held at the Stephen C. O'Connell Center Center, April 22-24.

The women's gymnastics championships consist of 12 teams and 12 all-around competitors (who are not on a qualifying team) and individual event specialists. The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors from each regional received automatic berths to the national championships.

In addition, the event winners at the regional championships advance to the national championships (in their specific event) if they were not part of a qualifying team or the all-around qualifiers.

The process for determining rotation pairings for day one of the team competition at the site of the finals is based on a National Qualifying Score (NQS) calculated by adding the Regional Qualifying Score (RQS) to the score achieved at regional competition.

Once the NQS is calculated, teams are ranked based on the NQS from 1 to 12. Teams 1, 4, 5, 8, 9 and 12 were placed in Group A; and teams 2, 3, 6, 7, 10 and 11 placed in Group B. The host team and its corresponding group will compete in the second session, if the host team qualifies. If not, then a random draw will be used to determine competition session.

Team qualifiers and individual qualifiers for the 2010 women's gymnastics championships are as follows:


Team Regional Regional Score National Qualifying Score
UCLA Los Angeles 197.825 394.885
Florida Salt Lake City 197.675 394.725
Alabama Lexington 197.400 394.650
Oklahoma University Park 197.250 394.420
Utah Salt Lake City 196.900 393.385
Stanford Morgantown 196.775 393.375
Arkansas Los Angeles 196.675 393.185
Oregon State Columbia 196.275 392.820
LSU University Park 196.400 392.815
Missouri Columbia 196.500 392.585
Michigan Morgantown 195.800 392.400
Nebraska Lexington 195.875 392.230


Team Regional Regional Score
Brandi Personett, Penn State University Park 39.5500
Kelley Hennigan, Denver Salt Lake City 39.3000
Taylor Seaman, North Carolina State Morgantown 39.3000
Rebecca Simbhudas, Iowa Columbia 39.2500
Elise Wheeler, Southern Utah Morgantown 39.2500
Sarah Schmidt, Illinois Lexington 39.2250
Brianna Artemev, Denver Salt Lake City 39.2000
Sharaya Musser, Penn State University Park 39.2000
Nicole Curler, Michigan State Lexington 39.1750
Michelle Browning, Iowa State Los Angeles 39.1500
Alexis Russell, Minnesota Columbia 39.1000
Mary Atkinson, Arizona State Los Angeles 39.0750


Beam: Regional Regional Score
Courtney McCool, Georgia Columbia 9.9000
Floor: Regional Regional Score
Courtney McCool, Georgia Columbia 9.9000
Rachel Inniss, Auburn Columbia 9.9000
Hannah Redmon, Boise State Salt Lake City 9.9000
Kristen Linton, Washington Salt Lake City 9.9000
Samantha Walior, Washington Salt Lake City 9.9000
Vault: Regional Regional Score
Whitney Rose, Kentucky Lexington 9.9000
Allison Buckley, Illinois Lexington 9.9000
Hannah Redmon, Boise State Salt Lake City 9.9750

In the 2009 championships, the Georgia Bulldogs won their fifth consecutive championship title with an overall score of 197.825. The Bulldogs have won the title a record 10 times in 26 championship appearances, followed by Utah with nine titles. Alabama finished second with a score of 197.575, followed by Utah in third (197.425), Florida in fourth (196.725), Arkansas in fifth (196.475) and LSU in sixth (196.375).

Team semifinal and all-around competition will be conducted in two sessions Thursday, April 22 at 1 p.m. and 7 p.m. The top three teams from each semifinal will advance to the Super Six competition Friday, April 23 at 6 p.m. The top four individuals from each session in each event (plus ties) from the preliminary team and all-around competition will compete in the individual-event competition Saturday, April 24 at 6 p.m.

For more information and tickets to the women's gymnastics championships, log on to www.NCAA.com.