gymnastics-women-nc flag | March 21, 2016

2016 NCAA women's gymnastics championship regional selections

NC Women's Gymnastics: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS --The 2016 National Collegiate Women’s Gymnastics Championships regional selections were announced today by the NCAA.

Six teams, four all-around competitors (who are not on a qualifying team) and two individual event specialist per event [who has a minimum Regional Qualifying Score (RQS) of 9.4] were named to each of the six predetermined host sites.

The top 18-teams are seeded nationally, based on RQS, and placed into the bracket. Teams 19-36 are organized into three pods (19-24, 25-30 and 31-36) and placed geographically at one of the six sites, beginning with teams 19-24 followed by teams 25-30 and then finally teams 31-36. Seeding determined at the time of regional selections will be maintained throughout the championships. All-around competitors and event specialists are assigned to their respective geographic region.

In the event of a tie for the last berth into regional competition and for seeding purposes, the team, all-around competitor or individual event specialist with the highest score, not including the six used to calculate the regional qualifying score, will qualify. If a tie still exists, the process is continued until the tie is broken.

The qualifying teams and individuals are listed below. All regionals will be conducted Saturday, April 2, with start times of either 4 or 6 p.m. local time.

Full printable bracket | Competition order

Ann Arbor Regional (University of Michigan, host) – 6 p.m.


Eastern Mich. 
Penn St.
New Hampshire 

All-Around Competitors

1.   Lindsay Offutt, Pittsburgh

2.   Libby Groden, Rutgers

3.   Majesta Valentine, West Chester

4.   Tracey Pearson, Pittsburgh

Alt. – Kelsey Campbell, Bridgeport 

Individual Event Specialists

Vault – Nicolette Wilson, Rutgers

Vault – Michelle Amoresano, Rutgers

Alt. – Riahanah Ali, Rutgers

Uneven Bars – Christine Liautaud, Bridgeport

Uneven Bars – Miya Dotson, Pittsburgh

Alt. – Makenzey Shank, Rutgers

Balance Beam – Kaitlin Green, Cornell

Balance Beam – Brianna Comport, Bridgeport

Alt. – Kelly Burak, Pittsburgh

Floor Exercise – Brianna Comport, Bridgeport

Floor Exercise – Randi Cutolo, Bridgeport

Alt. – Riahanah Ali, Rutgers

Athens Regional (University of Georgia, host) – 4 p.m.


Oregon St. 
George Washington 
Michigan St.

All-Around Competitors

1.   Brittni Watkins, North Carolina St.

2.   Morgan Lane, North Carolina

3.   Tyra McKellar, Towson

4.   Brittany Stover, William & Mary

Alt. – Chelsea Knight, North Carolina St.

Individual Event Specialists

Vault – Kathy Tang, Maryland

Vault – Chelsea Knight, North Carolina St.

Alt. – Dominiquea Trotter, Maryland

Uneven Bars – Abbie Epperson, Maryland

Uneven Bars – Kaitlynn Hedelund, North Carolina

Alt. – Kathy Tang, Maryland

Balance Beam – Mary Elle Arduino, Towson

Balance Beam – Nicole Wild, North Carolina St.

Alt. – Evelyn Nee, Maryland

Floor Exercise – Kathy Tang, Maryland

Floor Exercise – Macey Roberts, Maryland

Alt. – Emily Brauckmuller, Maryland

Iowa City Regional (University of Iowa, host) – 4 p.m.


Kent St.
Central Mich.

All-Around Competitors

1.   Anna Corbett, Western Mich.

2.   Kelsey Hood, Western Mich.

3.   Ashley White, Centenary

Individual Event Specialists

Vault – Denasiha Christian, Ball St.

Vault – Jessi Buis, Western Mich.

Vault – Sarah Ebeyer, Ball St.

Alt. – Jordyn Penny, Ball St.

Uneven Bars – Jordyn Penny, Ball St.

Uneven Bars – Jessie Peszek, Western Mich.

Uneven Bars – Jessica Juncaj, Western Mich.

Alt. – Kayla Beckler, Ball St.

Balance Beam – Rachael Underwood, Western Mich.

Balance Beam – Jessie Peszek, Western Mich.

Balance Beam – Baylee Bell, Ball St.

Alt. – Jordyn Penny, Ball St.

Floor Exercise – Denasiha Christian, Ball St.

Floor Exercise – Rachael Underwood, Western Mich. 

Floor Exercise – Sarah Ebeyer, Ball St.

Alt. – Audry Merritt, Western Mich.

Minneapolis Regional (University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, host) – 4 p.m.


Ohio St.

All-Around Competitors

1.   Haylee Young, Iowa St.

2.   Meaghan Sievers, Iowa St.

3.   Kara Witgen, Air Force

4.   Jamie Lewis, Air Force

Alt. – Courtney Pickett, Wis.-Whitewater

Individual Event Specialists

Vault – Sydney Converse, Iowa St.

Vault – Briana Ledesma, Iowa St.

Alt. – Sara Townsend, Iowa St.

Uneven Bars – Hilary Green, Iowa St.

Uneven Bars – Mackenzie Smith, Wis.-Whitewater

Alt. – Amy Enright, Wis.-La Crosse

Balance Beam – Alex Marasco, Iowa St.

Balance Beam – Sydney Converse, Iowa St.

Alt. – Sarah Neumann, Air Force

Floor Exercise – Briana Ledesma, Iowa St.

Floor Exercise – Kelsey Paz, Iowa St.

Alt. – Courtney Middelkoop, Iowa St. 

Salt Lake City Regional (University of Utah, host) – 6 p.m. 


Southern Utah
Utah St. 

All-Around Competitors

1.   Kalliah McCartney, Sacramento St.

2.   Lauren Rice, Sacramento St.

3.   Maria Hundley, Seattle Pacific

4.   M’rcy Matsunami, Alas. Anchorage

Alt. – Maddie Herr, San Jose St.

Individual Event Specialists

Vault – Julia Konner, Sacramento St.

Vault – Katy Nogaki, UC Davis

Alt. – Erica Matos, San Jose St.

Uneven Bars – Alexis Brown, UC Davis

Uneven Bars – Cassie Benning, Sacramento St.

Alt. – Dani Judal, UC Davis

Balance Beam – Stephanie Stamates, UC Davis

Balance Beam – Alexis Brown, UC Davis

Alt. – Katy Nogaki, UC Davis

Floor Exercise – Stephanie Stamates, UC Davis

Floor Exercise – Cassie Benning, Sacramento St.

Alt. – Yasmine Yektaparast, UC Davis

Tuscaloosa Regional (University of Alabama, host) – 4 p.m. 


Boise St.
West Virginia
Bowling Green 

All-Around Competitors

1.   Alexis Brawner, Southeast Mo. St.

2.   Allie Salas, Arizona St.

3.   Mikailla Northern, Ill.-Chicago

4.   Lauren Israel, Southeast Mo. St.

Alt. – Jenna Squillo, Ill.-Chicago

Individual Event Specialists

Vault – Taylor Allex, Arizona St.

Vault – Andie Van Vorrhis, Northern Ill.

Alt. – Schyler Jones, Texas Woman’s

Uneven Bars – Jamyra Carter, Northern Ill.

Uneven Bars – Lauren Africano, Northern Ill.

Alt. – Ashley Potts, Northern Ill.

Balance Beam – Amanda Mohler, Illinois St.

Balance Beam – Megan Greenfield, Northern Ill.

Alt. – Beka Conrad, Arizona St.

Floor Exercise – Taylor Allex, Arizona St.

Floor Exercise – McKinzie Jones, Southeast Mo. St.

Alt. – Anna Martucci, Northern Ill.

* Denotes Regional Host.

The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Fort Worth, Texas, April 15-16, hosted by Texas Woman’s University and the Knight Eady Sports Group. The top two teams from the Iowa City, Salt Lake City and Tuscaloosa regionals will compete in one of the semifinals, and the top two teams from the Minneapolis, Ann Arbor and Athens regionals will compete in the other semifinal.

In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

For tickets and information regarding the National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships, log on to

Preview, predictions for every 2023 women's college gymnastics regional

The experts from College Gym News break down the regionals, including how to watch, who to watch and predictions for who will advance.

5 quick reactions to the 2023 NCAA women's gymnastics championship selections

The experts from College Gym News give their takes on the 2023 NCAA women's gymnastics championship selections.

College gymnastics rankings: Top teams, individuals before championship selections

The College Gym News experts rank the best teams and individuals, led by Oklahoma's 49.800 on beam — the third-highest beam total in NCAA history.