gymnastics-women-nc flag

Michella Chester | | April 16, 2022

2022 NCAA women’s gymnastics championships: Dates, schedule, locations

Clinching beam routine for 2022 NCAA gymnastics champion Oklahoma

The 2022 women's gymnastics championships were held at Dickies Arena in Fort Worth Texas from April 14-16. 

Oklahoma secured the team title by holding off Florida. You can check out complete coverage here.

Team semifinal and individual competition were conducted in two sessions on Thursday, April 14. The top two teams from each semifinal advanced to the championship final.

The teams in the semifinal sessions were: (1) Oklahoma, (8) Minnesota, (4) Utah and (5) Alabama in Semifinal I, and then (2) Florida, (7) Auburn, (3) Michigan and (11) Missouri in Semifinal II.

Round City Venue Dates Host
Regional Norman, OK Lloyd Noble Center March 30 - April 2 Oklahoma
Regional Seattle, WA Alaska Airlines Arena March 30 - April 2 Washington
Regional Auburn, AL Auburn Arena March 30 - April 2 Auburn
Regional Raleigh, NC Reynolds Coliseum March 30 - April 2 NC State
Championship Fort Worth, TX Dickies Arena April 14 - 16 Texas Woman's

The top 36 teams based on national qualifying score (NQS) will be selected for regional competition. The NCAA selection committee will identify the top 16 teams and seed them in the bracket. Teams 17-36 will be placed geographically at one of the four regional sites. All host teams stay home to compete, whether they are a top-16 seed or not. The top 12 all-around competitors and top 16 event specialists will be selected based on national qualifying scores and will be placed geographically, keeping individuals from the same team together.

LIVE UPDATES: Follow the entire 2022 tournament from start to finish 

Regional sites will host first round, second round and regional final competition over a three-day period. The first round will consist of two teams, the second round will consist of eight teams and the regional final will consist of four teams. Regional competition will consist of nine teams, three all-around competitors and four individual specialists per event.

In 2022, the regional first round will occur on Wednesday, March 30, the second round will occur on Thursday, March 31 and the regional final will occur Saturday, April 2.

The National Collegiate Women’s Gymnastics Championships will consist of eight teams, four all-around competitors and 16 event specialists. The top two teams and the top all-around competitor (who is not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships. In addition, the top event specialist in each event (not on an advancing team or an all-arounder) advances to the national championship (in that event only).

Future dates and sites

Round City Venue Dates Host
Regional Denver Magness Arena TBA Denver
Regional Los Angeles Pauley Pavilion TBA UCLA
Regional Norman, Okla. Lloyd Noble Center TBA Oklahoma
Regional Pittsburgh Petersen Events Center TBA University of Pittsburgh and SportsPITTSBURGH
Championship Fort Worth, Texas Dickies Arena TBA Texas Woman's and Knight Eady
Round City Venue Dates Host
Regional Ann Arbor, Mich. Crisler Center TBA Michigan
Regional Berkeley, Calif. Haas Pavilion TBA California, Berkley
Regional Fayetteville, Ark. Barnhill Arena TBA Arkansas, Fayetteville
Regional Gainesville, Fla. Exactech Arena at the Stephen C. O'Connell Center TBA Florida
Championship Fort Worth, Texas Dickies Arena TBA Texas Woman's and Knight Eady
Round City Venue Dates Host
Regional Salt Lake City Jon M. Huntsman Center TBA


Regional Seattle Alaska Airlines Arena TBA Washington
Regional Tuscaloosa, Ala. Coleman Coliseum TBA Alabama
Regional University Park, Pa. Rec Hall TBA Pennsylvania State
Championship Fort Worth, Texas Dickies Arena TBA Texas Woman's and Knight Eady
Round City Venue Dates Host
Regional Baton Rouge, La. Pete Maravich Assembly Center TBA Louisiana State
Regional Corvallis, Ore. Gill Coliseum TBA Oregon State
Regional Lexington, Ky. Memorial Coliseum TBA Kentucky
Regional Tempe, Ariz. Desert Financial Arena TBA Arizona State
Championship Fort Worth, Texas Dickies Arena TBA Texas Woman's and Knight Eady

Championship history

2021 Michigan Beverly Plocki  198.25 Oklahoma 198.1625 Fort Worth, Texas
2020 Canceled due to Covid-19 -- -- -- -- --
2019 Oklahoma K.J. Kindler 198.3375 LSU 197.8250 Fort Worth, Texas
2018 UCLA Valorie Kondos Field 198.0750 Oklahoma 198.0375 St. Louis
2017 Oklahoma K.J. Kindler 198.3875 LSU 197.7375 St. Louis
2016 Oklahoma K.J. Kindler 197.675 LSU 197.450 Fort Worth, Texas
2015 Florida Rhonda Faehn 197.850 Utah 197.800 Fort Worth, Texas
2014 Florida, Oklahoma Rhonda Faehn, K.J. Kindler 198.175 LSU 197.600 Birmingham, Ala.
2013 Florida Rhonda Faehn 197.575 Oklahoma 197.375 UCLA
2012 Alabama Sarah Patterson 197.850 Florida 197.775 Georgia Tech
2011 Alabama Sarah Patterson 197.65 UCLA 197.375 Cleveland
2010 UCLA Valorie Kondos Field 197.725 Oklahoma 197.25 Florida
2009 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 197.825 Alabama 197.575 Nebraska
2008 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 197.45 Utah 197.125 Georgia
2007 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 197.85 Utah 197.25 Utah
2006 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 197.75 Utah 196.8 Oregon State
2005 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 197.825 Alabama 197.4 Auburn
2004 UCLA Valorie Kondos Field 198.125 Georgia 197.2 UCLA
2003 UCLA Valorie Kondos Field 197.825 Alabama 197.275 Nebraska
2002 Alabama Sarah Patterson 197.575 Georgia 197.25 Alabama
2001 UCLA Valorie Kondos Field 197.575 Georgia 197.4 Georgia
2000 UCLA Valorie Kondos Field 197.3 Utah 196.875 Boise State
1999 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 196.85 Michigan 196.55 Utah
1998 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 197.725 Florida 196.35 UCLA
1997 UCLA Valorie Kondos Field 197.15 Arizona State 196.85 Florida
1996 Alabama Sarah Patterson 198.025 UCLA 197.475 Alabama
1995 Utah Greg Marsden 196.65 Alabama, Michigan 196.425, 196.425 Georgia
1994 Utah Greg Marsden 196.4 Alabama 196.35 Utah
1993 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 198 Alabama 196.825 Oregon State
1992 Utah Greg Marsden 195.65 Georgia 194.6 Minnesota
1991 Alabama Sarah Patterson 195.125 Utah 194.375 Alabama
1990 Utah Greg Marsden 194.9 Alabama 194.575 Oregon State
1989 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 192.65 UCLA 192.6 Georgia
1988 Alabama Sarah Patterson 190.05 Utah 189.5 Utah
1987 Georgia Suzanne Yoculan 187.9 Utah 187.55 Utah
1986 Utah Greg Marsden 186.95 Arizona State 186.7 Florida
1985 Utah Greg Marsden 188.35 Arizona State 186.6 Utah
1984 Utah Greg Marsden 186.05 UCLA 185.55 UCLA
1983 Utah Greg Marsden 184.65 Arizona State 183.3 Utah
1982 Utah Greg Marsden 148.6 Cal State Fullerton 144.1 Utah

Way-too-early power rankings for the 2023 college gymnastics season

2022 champion Oklahoma leads the way in our way-too-early power rankings for the 2023 college gymnastics season.

Oklahoma captures fifth national title in come-from-behind win

Oklahoma edged out Florida by less than one point to capture its fifth national title on Saturday.

WATCH: Ragan Smith clinches 2022 NC women's gymnastics title for Oklahoma

Ragan Smith put up the highest score of the day on the balance beam to clinch the 2022 title for Oklahoma.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners