icehockey-men-d1 flag

Kevin Kurtt | Let's Play Hockey | March 14, 2019

Men's hockey: 2019 Mike Richter Award finalists announced

UConn at the top of hockey plays

CHANHASSEN, MINN. — Let’s Play Hockey announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2019 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. The five finalists for the sixth annual award will be announced on Thursday, March 28, with the winner presented on Friday, April 12 at the 2019 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Buffalo, N.Y. In alphabetical order, following are the semifinalists for the 2019 Mike Richter Award:

FROZEN FOUR 2019: Tickets | Championship Info | Schedule

Name school year MIN w-l-t gaa sv% SO svs
Joey Daccord Arizona State Jr. 2032:51 21-12-1 2.36 .926 7 994
Hayden Hawkey Providence Sr. 2103:52 21-9-5 1.77 .923 7 745
Jake Kielly Clarkson Jr. 1996:32 22-10-2 1.92 .928 5 821
Stefanos Lekkas Vermont Jr. 2061:56 12-19-3 2.27 .930 0 1040
Dryden McKay Minnesota State Fr. 1774:36 21-6-2 1.72 .928 3 659
Cale Morris Notre Dame Jr. 1832:20 16-12-3 2.23 .929 4 890
Tommy Nappier Ohio State So. 1046:39 12-2-3 1.78 .937 4 464
Cayden Primeau Northeastern So. 1809:19 21-9-1 2.12 .932 4 871
Hunter Shepard Minnesota Duluth Jr.  2024:26 21-11-2 2.02 .911 5 695
Andrew Shortridge Quinnipiac Jr. 1293:41 17-4-2 1.39 .944 4 509

 The semifinalists combine for a 1.96 goals-against average, a .929 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.34.
Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The semifinalists, finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

GET YOUR BRACKET READY: Check out this week's Bracketology
Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:
-               Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
-               Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
-               Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
-               Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
-               Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community
Past winners: 2018 Cale Morris (Notre Dame), 2017 Tanner Jaillet (Denver), 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)

THREE STARS: ND's Cale Morris earns weekend shutout sweep, named top star
NOTES: All 10 semifinalists are Americans • The 10 semifinalists represent eight different U.S. states – Minnesota, Colorado  and Illinois lead with two, followed by Alaska, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri and New Jersey with one each • Conference breakdown – Hockey East 3, Big Ten 2, ECAC 2, NCHC 1, WCHA 1, Independent 1 • The semifinalists include one senior, six juniors, two sophomores and one freshman • Eight of the semifinalists played in the USHL prior to college, followed by one each in the BCHL and NAHL.
About Let’s Play Hockey: In its 46th season and based in Minnesota, Let’s Play Hockey is the longest-running hockey newspaper in the U.S., serving the largest hockey market in the nation.

Quinnipiac men's hockey wins first-ever national championship in overtime thriller over Minnesota

For the first time in program history, Quinnipiac has reached the summit of college hockey, defeating Minnesota 3-2 in overtime to win the 2023 NCAA Division I men’s hockey national championship.

2023 Men's Frozen Four: Bracket, scores, schedule for the college hockey championship

Follow the 2023 DI men's ice hockey tournament all the way to the 2023 Frozen Four at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla.

Michigan forward Adam Fantilli wins 2023 Hobey Baker Award as top men's college hockey player

Michigan freshman forward Adam Fantilli is the 2023 Hobey Baker Award winner as the top Division I men's college hockey player.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners