For the women's release, click here.

March 8, 2009


NCAA Release

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Committee announced today the field of 11 teams for the 2009 NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

Six conferences have been awarded automatic qualification.  The remaining five teams were selected at-large by the committee.

The championship playoff format involves three first-round games and four quarterfinal games that are played on the campuses of the participating institutions.  All games in the championship are single elimination.  The four quarterfinal winners advance to Lake Placid, New York, at Herb Brooks Arena at the Olympic Center for the semifinals and championship game, which will be conducted March 20-21.  Plattsburgh State University and the Olympic Regional Development Authority will host the championship.  Tickets may be purchased by calling 518/523-3330.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are:
ECAC DIII Men’s East Hockey League – Babson (13-13-1)
ECAC DIII Northeast Hockey League – Nichols (25-3-0)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Gustavus Adolphus (17-10-0)
New England Small College Athletic Conference – Amherst (21-4-1)        
Northern Collegiate Hockey Association – Wisconsin-Stout (22-5-2)
State University of New York Athletic Conference – Plattsburgh State (24-1-2)
Elmira, Hobart, Neumann, St. Scholastica and Wisconsin-Superior enter the field as the five at-large selections.

The championship game will be televised live on CBS College Sports Network Saturday, March 21, at 5 p.m. Eastern.  

In 2008, St. Norbert College claimed its first national championship title with a 2-0 win over Plattsburgh State at Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, New York.

For more information about the Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, log on to