Oct. 7, 2009

October 7, 2009 (Overland Park, KS) – Twenty NCAA® hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were tabbed as candidates today for the 2009-10 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.  

This year’s candidate class includes two preseason Inside College Hockey All-Americans, two returning American Hockey Coaches Association All-Americans from last season and eight candidates from teams ranked in the USA Today/USA Hockey preseason top 15 poll. Seven candidates helped their teams earn a spot in the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship. Half of the 20 candidates have cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 and above. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award™ winner at the NCAA Men’s Frozen Four® in April.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition.  

“I am always amazed at the commitment to academics, athletics and community that our nominees in hockey demonstrate each year,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “This year’s student-athletes have reached new heights in their concerns for a better community, their stellar work in the classroom and their numerous achievements on the field of competition.”

This marks the fourth year for the ice hockey division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Michigan State University goaltender Jeff Lerg received the award for the 2008-09 season and Princeton University center Landis Stankievech took home the 2007-08 honor. In 2006-07, University of Notre Dame goaltender David Brown won the inaugural men’s hockey award.

# # # #

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: classroom, community, character and competition.  The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards that a senior season can bring. Sportscaster Dick Enberg, Honorary Chairman of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, first conceived the idea of an award for seniors in 2001 in response to the growing trend of men’s basketball players leaving school early for the NBA. The award program has expanded the past two years to include a total of nine NCAA® Division I sports – football, men’s and women’s soccer, men’s ice hockey, men’s lacrosse, baseball and softball in addition to men’s and women’s basketball. The award is sponsored by Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA®, and managed by Premier Sports Management.  For more information, visit www.seniorCLASSaward.com.

With fiscal year 2008 sales of $48.2 billion, Lowe’s Companies, Inc. is a FORTUNE® 50 company that serves approximately 14 million customers a week at more than 1,675 home improvement stores in the United States and Canada. Founded in 1946 and based in Mooresville, N.C., Lowe’s is the second-largest home improvement retailer in the world. For more information, visit Lowes.com.


The NCAA is a membership-led nonprofit association of colleges and universities committed to supporting academic and athletics opportunities for more than 400,000 student-athletes at more than 1,000 member colleges and universities. Each year, more than 54,000 student-athletes compete in NCAA championships in Divisions I, II and III sports. Visit www.NCAA.org and www.NCAA.com for more details about the Association.


2009-10 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award
Ice Hockey Candidates


Name Position School
Jean-Marc Beaudoin Forward Quinnipiac University
Peter Boldt Defense Dartmouth College
Andrew Braithwaite Goaltender Merrimack College
Cody Chupp Right Wing Ferris State University
Ryan Donald Defense Yale University
Matt Fairchild Forward United States Air Force Academy
Chay Genoway Defense University of North Dakota
Barry Goers Defense University of Massachusetts Lowell
Colin Greening Forward Cornell University
Dion Knelsen Center University of Alaska Fairbanks
Andrew Loewen Goaltender Canisius College
David McIntyre Forward Colgate University
Martin Nolet Defense University of Massachusetts Amherst
Garrett Raboin Defense St. Cloud State University
Rhett Rakhshani Forward University of Denver
Dan Ringwald Defense Rochester Institute of Technology
Chris Summers Defense University of Michigan
Ryan Thang Left Wing University of Notre Dame
Eli Vlaisavljevich Defense Michigan Technological University
Brett Watson Forward University of Massachusetts Amherst