July 13, 2010

NCAA Release

The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has announced the host sites for the 2013 and 2014 Men’s Frozen Four. Pittsburgh, Pa., will host the 2013 Men’s Frozen Four at the Consol Energy Center, while Philadelphia, Pa., will serve as the host for the 2014 championship at the Wachovia Center.
“The number of quality bids submitted made the process of choosing the host sites extremely difficult for the committee,” said Bill Bellerose, chair of the Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee and associate athletic director at College of the Holy Cross. “We are extremely pleased with every aspect of both winning bids - from the venue, to the community support to the cities themselves, everything will be first-class. We are confident both sites will put forth the ultimate championship experience for the student-athletes and fans alike.”
The Consol Energy Center is set to open in August 2010 and will be the new home to the National Hockey League’s Pittsburgh Penguins. Robert Morris University, a member of the Atlantic Hockey Association, will serve as the host institution for the championship taking place on April 11 and 13, 2013.
The Wachovia Center has hosted a number of NCAA Tournament events, such as the 2000 Women’s Final Four, the 2001 Division I Men’s Basketball East Regional and the 2006 Division I Men’s Basketball First and Second Rounds. The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) will serve as the host for the event on April 10 and 12, 2014.
These two championships will be the first two NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship events held in the state of Pennsylvania.
The 2011 Men’s Frozen Four will be held in St. Paul, Minn., at the Xcel Energy Center, April 7 and 9. The 2012 championships will be held at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, Fla., April 5 and 7.
For more information on the NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championships, log on to NCAA.com/frozenfour.