Oct. 16, 2010

DENVER - No. 1 Boston College scored four goals in the second period to storm past No. 6/8 Denver 6-2 before a sellout crowd of 6,036 on Friday night at Magness Arena. Junior Luke Salazar (Thornton, Colo.) generated the Pioneers' only offense, scoring two goals on the night.

DU falls to 1-1-1 on the season, while BC improves to 2-0-0.

"This was a shocker tonight to a lot of people in this building, including yours truly," DU head coach George Gwozdecky said. "BC took advantage of our miscues. We know we can play much better. We will have to work harder and play smarter tomorrow night."

After jumping out to an early 1-0 lead, four different Eagles scored in the second to build a 5-0 advantage. DU finally got on the board at 15:35 in the second period when Salazar scored off of a Jesse Martin (Edmonton, Alberta) pass. Kyle Ostrow (Calgary, Alberta) was also credited with an assist.

Salazar struck again at the 4:50 mark in the third period when he picked up a loose puck in the slot and found the back of the net. Freshman David Makowski (Wildwood, Mo.) and sophomore Paul Phillips (Darien, Ill.) earned assists on the play.

Nearly three minutes later, BC's Brian Gibbons capped the night with a short-handed goal to make the final score 6-2.

The Pioneers were outshot 34-29 and were 0-for-8 on the power play. Goalie Adam Murray (Anchorage, Alaska) made 28 saves.

Joe Whitney, Cam Atkinson, Tommy Cross, Jimmy Hayes, and Kevin Hayes also scored for the Eagles. Atkinson led the way with three points on one goal and two assists. John Muse got the win with 27 saves.

Denver will look to rebound against the Eagles tomorrow at 7:07 p.m.

Notes: Freshman Jerrod Mermis (Alton, Ill.) made his collegiate debut tonight and had four shots on goal in the contest. Freshman Nick Shore (Denver, Colo.) missed his second consecutive game with a wrist injury. The 2010 DU Athletic Hall of Fame inductees were honored between the first and second periods, including the 1968-69 NCAA champion Pioneer hockey team. The DU ski team, which won its 21st NCAA Championship in 2010, was honored in the second intermission.