INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Committee announced the field of 11 teams for the 2011 NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

Seven conferences have been awarded automatic qualification. The remaining four teams were selected at-large by the committee.

The championship playoff format involves three first-round games and four quarterfinal games that are played on the campuses of the participating institutions. All games in the championship are single elimination. The four quarterfinal winners advance to Minneapolis, Minnesota, at Ridder Arena for the semifinals and championship game, which will be conducted March 25-26. The Northern Collegiate Hockey Association will host the championship.

Conferences that Received Automatic Qualification
Conference School
ECAC DIII Men’s East Hockey League Norwich University (20-5-3)
ECAC DIII Northeast Hockey League Curry (16-8-3)
Midwest Collegiate Hockey Association Adrian (23-3-1)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Hamline University (16-6-5)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Bowdoin College (17-7-1)
Northern Collegiate Hockey Association St. Norbert (22-4-1)
State University of New York Athletic Conference Plattsburgh State University of New York (20-7-1)

Elmira College, Neumann College, State University of New York at Oswego and University Wisconsin, Superior, enter the field as the four at-large selections.

The championship game will be webstreamed live on at 7 p.m. ET.

In 2010, Norwich claimed its third national championship title with a 2-1 win in overtime against St. Norbert at the Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, N.Y.

For more information about the 2011 Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, visit

School Number of Appearances* Last Appearance
*Includes 2011 appearance
Adrian 2 2010
Bowdoin 4 2010
Curry 3 2010
Elmira 14 2010
Hamline First ---
Neumann 2 2009
Norwich 12 2010
Oswego State 10 2010
Plattsburgh State 19 2010
St. Norbert 12 2010
Wisconsin-Superior 13 2009