INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the 16 teams that will be participating in the 2011 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site. The four regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four. The entire championship uses a single-elimination format.

Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of five conferences. The remainder of the field is selected at-large.

Yale University was the No. 1 overall seed. The other No. 1 seeds, in order, included the University of North Dakota, Boston College and Miami (Ohio) University.

Region/Date Venue/Teams Time Network
East Regional Webster Bank Arena at Harbor Yard    
March 25 No. 2 Union (N.Y.) vs. No. 3 Minn. Duluth 3 p.m. ET ESPNU/
March 25 No. 1 Yale vs. No. 4 Air Force 6:30 p.m. ET ESPNU/
March 26 East Regional Championship 6:30 p.m. ET ESPNU/
West Regional Scottrade Center    
March 25 No. 2 Michigan vs. No. 3 Nebraska-Omaha 5:30 p.m. ET ESPN Syndication/
March 25 No. 1 Boston College vs. No. 4 Colorado College 9 p.m. ET ESPNU/
March 26 West Regional Championship 9 p.m. ET ESPNU/
Northeast Regional Verizon Wireless Arena    
March 26 No. 1 Miami (Ohio) vs. No. 4 New Hampshire 4 p.m. ET ESPNU/
March 26 No. 2 Merrimack vs. No. 3 Notre Dame 7:30 p.m. ET ESPN Syndication/
March 27 Northeast Regional Championship 8 p.m. ET ESPNU/
Midwest Regional Resch Center    
March 26 No. 1 North Dakota vs. No. 4 Rensselaer 1:30 p.m. ET ESPN Syndication/
March 26 No. 2 Denver vs. No. 3 Western Michigan 5 p.m. ET ESPN Syndication/
March 27 Midwest Regional Championship 5:30 p.m. ET ESPNU/
Men’s Frozen Four Xcel Energy Center    
April 7 East Regional Champ vs. Northeast Regional Champ 5 p.m. ET ESPN2/
  Midwest Regional Champ vs. West Regional Champ 8:30 p.m ET ESPN2/
April 9 National Championship 7 p.m. ET ESPN/

The following conferences and teams received automatic qualification:

  • Atlantic Hockey Association – Air Force
  • Central Collegiate Hockey Association – Miami (Ohio)
  • ECAC Hockey – Yale
  • Hockey East Association – Boston College
  • Western Collegiate Hockey Association – North Dakota