A Joint Statement from Brad Bates, Director of Athletics, Miami (Ohio); Ken Ralph, Director of Athletics, Colorado College; Peg Bradley-Doppes, Director of Athletics, Denver; Bob Nielson, Director of Athletics, Minnesota-Duluth; Trev Alberts, Director of Athletics, Nebraska-Omaha; Brian Faison, Director of Athletics, North Dakota

"We are pleased to announce that six top NCAA Division I ice hockey programs will become founding members of a newly formed hockey conference, which will begin competition for the 2013-14 season.  The six institutions are Colorado College, University of Denver, Miami University, University of Minnesota-Duluth, University of Nebraska-Omaha and University of North Dakota. 

"We understand and appreciate the widespread interest in developments relating to the formation of the new hockey conference.  More information will be provided about the initiatives that have been undertaken, as well as the next steps involved, at a news conference in Colorado Springs this Wednesday, July 13.  Our programs look forward to continued associations with our current leagues, the WCHA and CCHA, for the next two seasons. 

"Additional information about Wednesday’s news conference will be forthcoming in the next few days.  There will be no further comment from athletic directors, coaches or other officials from any of the institutions until Wednesday’s news conference."

Top programs to form new league