The new National Collegiate Hockey Conference announced on Wednesday features six schools rich in hockey tradition: Colorado College, Denver, Miami (Ohio), Minnesota-Duluth, Nebraska-Omaha and North Dakota.

Colorado College, Denver, Miami (Ohio), Minnesota-Duluth, Nebraska-Omaha and North Dakota.

Highlights of the schools in the new conference:

1929: Club hockey program begins at North Dakota.

1930: Duluth State Teacher's College announces that intercollegiate ice hockey will be added to the institution's varsity sports program.

1932: DSTC wins its first intercollegiate hockey game.

1938: Colorado College hockey opens its inaugural season at Broadmoor Ice Palace. The Tigers would play in the arena for 55 seasons.

1942-44: Collegiate hockey is canceled due to World War II.

1945: Cheddy Thompson named head coach of Colorado College hockey program.

1946: North Dakota officially starts a varsity hockey program.

1948: Colorado College sponsors the first NCAA hockey championships. The tournament would be held at the Ice Palace for the next 10 years, with the Tigers participating seven times.

1949: Vern Turner named first coach of Denver; hockey program plays first game on December 19, a 17-0 loss to Saskatchewan.

1949: After two seasons playing as an independent, Minnesota-Duluth is accepted into the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

1950: Colorado College wins its first national championship.

1951: Colorado College becomes a charter member of the Mid-West Collegiate Hockey League.

1953: Mid-West Collegiate Hockey League, changes its name to the Western Intercollegiate Hockey League featuring charter members Colorado College, Denver, Michigan, Michigan State, Michigan Tech, Minnesota and North Dakota.

1956: Murray Armstrong begins legacy as Denver hockey coach.

1957: Colorado College wins the national championship.

1958: Denver wins its first national championship.

1959: The WIHL evolves to become the Western Collegiate Hockey Association with the present-day WCHA consisting of five of its original seven teams plus Wisconsin, Minnesota-Duluth, St. Cloud State, Alaska-Anchorage, Bemidji State and Nebraska-Omaha.

1959: North Dakota wins program’s first national championship.

1960: Denver claims second NCAA crown.

1961: Denver wins back-to-back NCAA titles and third in school history. 

1963: North Dakota wins program’s second national championship.

1965: Minnesota-Duluth Provost Raymond Darland announces that the Bulldogs will officially become the eighth team in the prestigious WCHA beginning with the 1965-66 season.

1968: Denver wins fourth NCAA championship.

1969: Denver claims back-to-back titles for the second time in the decade and fifth overall. .

1978: John "Gino" Gasparini hired by North Dakota.

1978: Miami (Ohio) introduces hockey as a varsity sport. 

1980: North Dakota wins program’s third national championship.

1982: North Dakota wins program’s fourth national championship.

1983: The Fighting Sioux make their first trip to Europe to play in the prestigious Spengler Cup tournament in Davos, Switzerland.

1984: UMD concludes its six-day tour of the Soviet Union, thus becoming the first American collegiate ice hockey team to ever visit that country. The Bulldogs split a two-game exhibition series with the Junior Red Army in Leningrad and in Moscow.

1987: North Dakota wins its fifth NCAA crown and third in just nine years with Gasparini behind the bench.

1994: George Gwozdecky is named the seventh coach in Denver history.

1994: Gasparini steps down as North Dakota’s head coach.

1996: Nebraska-Omaha athletic director Don Leahy announces the start of Nebraska-Omaha’s Division I hockey program.

1996: Mike Kemp selected to lead Nebraska-Omaha’s hockey program.

1997: North Dakota wins sixth NCAA crown.

1999: Nebraska-Omaha joins the CCHA.

2000: Pioneers defeat Bemidji State 7-1 to post the 1,000th victory in Pioneer hockey history.

2000: North Dakota wins seventh national title.

2003: Mike Kemp wins his 100th career game as head coach of the Mavericks.

2004: George Gwozdecky becomes only the second coach in Denver history to compile 200 wins with the Pioneers.

2004: Denver wins fifth national championship.

2005: Denver claims consecutive championships for the third time in school history.

2009: Nebraska-Omaha hires Dean Blais to lead the Mavericks program.

2009: Miami (Ohio) loses national championship game to Boston in overtime.

2010: Nebraska-Omaha joins the WCHA.

2011: Minnesota-Duluth wins program’s first national championship.

2011: Colorado College, Denver, Minnesota-Duluth, Nebraska-Omaha and North Dakota and Miami (Ohio) announce plans to form a league in n 2013-14.