KALAMAZOO, Mich. -- No. 7 Western Michigan earned the sweep of No. 14 Northern Michigan in dramatic fashion with Ian Slater scoring the game-winner 28 seconds into overtime for a 3-2 win in front of 3,361 fans at Lawson Ice Arena on Saturday night.

Slater took a pass from Garrett Haar and went behind the net for a wrap-around and threw it off NMU goalie Reid Ellingson and into the net for his first goal of the season. The Broncos (5-0-3, 3-0-1) also picked up goals from Trevor Elias and Brett Beebe in the win and freshman goalie Frank Slubowski made 13 saves en route to his third victory of the season.

Elias netted his fourth goal of the season and third of the series just 8:15 into the period and he put in a rebound on a shot by Matt Tennyson. The shot was originally saved by NMU goalie Jared Coreau, who started but was relieved of his duty after the second Bronco goal, and put it between his legs. Tennyson and Slater each picked up assists on the first goal of the night for WMU.

The Broncos pushed the lead to 2-0 just under two minutes later at 10:08 when Beebe netted his first career goal. Line-mate J.J. Crew picked the pocket of a NMU defender right in front of the net and dumped it off to Beebe, who fired it through Coreau’s legs.

WMU surrendered its two-goal lead in a matter of 21 seconds in the second period. Both goals were scored by Stephan Vigier with the first coming at 16:38 and the second at 16:59. It was the third and fourth goals of the series for Vigier.

The Broncos killed off a pivotal power play in the final minutes of the third period. Luke Witkowski was given a five-minute major for checking from behind and the Broncos successfully killed it off as the Wildcats were held to just two shots on goal in the power play.

Saturday's Scores
No. 1 Boston College 6, Massachusetts-Lowell 3
No. 2 Denver 2, Michigan Tech 2 (OT)
No. 3 Colorado College 4 , Rensselaer 1
No. 5 Notre Dame 3, Bowling Green 2
No. 10 Yale 2 , Dartmouth 1
No. 13 Boston University 5, Massachusetts 4
No. 15 Minnesota-Duluth 1, Bemidji State 0