PARK RIDGE, Ill. -- The Big Ten on Wednesday announced the dates and opponents for the inaugural season of Big Ten men’s ice hockey, featuring 20-game schedules for each of the six hockey schools -- Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin.

The 2013-14 Big Ten hockey schedule will feature 60 games beginning in late November, with the majority of contests being played on Friday and Saturday. The schedule also will feature a limited number of games on Thursday, Sunday and Monday.

The Big Ten hockey schedule begins with a doubleheader on Nov. 29, with Michigan hosting Ohio State at Yost Ice Arena and Minnesota welcoming Wisconsin to Mariucci Arena. The Gophers and Badgers will wrap up their two-game series in Minneapolis on Nov. 30, while the Wolverines and Buckeyes will conclude their two-game series at Value City Arena on Dec. 2.

Michigan State and Penn State will take part in their first Big Ten competition on Dec. 6, with the Spartans hosting Minnesota at Munn Ice Arena and the Nittany Lions playing at Wisconsin’s Kohl Center. Both two-game series will conclude on Dec. 7.

The Big Ten schedule resumes Jan. 10, with Michigan at Wisconsin and Michigan State at Ohio State. The Nittany Lions will play their first Big Ten home games at Pegula Ice Arena when they host Minnesota for a two-game series on Jan. 12-13.

The Big Ten season continues with games for 10 consecutive weekends from January through March. The final regular-season games will take place on March 14-March 15, with Minnesota at Michigan, Ohio State at Penn State and Wisconsin at Michigan State.

The first season of Big Ten hockey concludes with the inaugural Big Ten Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament, to be held March 20-22, 2014, at Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul, Minn. The tournament will feature all six teams in a single-elimination format.