icehockey-men-d1 flag

Official Release | February 28, 2014

Mike Richter Award candidates announced


MINNEAPOLIS --Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 18 candidates for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, which annually honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. The inaugural award will be presented at the 2014 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Philadelphia.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 59 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner will be selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:

  • Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
  • Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
  • Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
  • Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
  • Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

In its 42nd season and based in Minneapolis, Let’s Play Hockey is the longest-running hockey newspaper in the U.S., serving the largest hockey market in the nation. Let's Play Hockey is published 29 times a year -- weekly during the hockey season and monthly during the offseason.

The Herb Brooks Foundation is dedicated to growing the game of hockey and giving the game back to the kids. Founded in 2003 by Dan Brooks and Kelly Brooks Paradise, Herb’s family and friends created the foundation to preserve his legacy by continuing his life’s work by growing the game by “making hockey fun for kids and letting them learn to love the game the way we did.”

The candidates combine for a 2.19 goals-against average, a .926 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.12.

Sam BrittainDenverSenior13-11-62.10.9314
Aaron CrandallMinnesota DuluthSenior11-9-32.77.9030
Thatcher DemkoBoston CollegeFreshman13-1-31.74.9372
Ryan FaragherSt. Cloud StateJunior16-6-42.62.9101
Jon GilliesProvidenceSophomore14-7-52.23.9263
Connor HellebuyckUMass LowellSophomore12-6-21.90.9293
Jake HildebrandMichigan StateSophomore8-13-72.22.9312
Andy IlesCornellSenior13-7-52.26.9200
C.J. MotteFerris StateJunior22-5-32.22.9283
Zach NagelvoortMichiganFreshman10-7-22.26.9271
Martin OulletteMaineSenior14-11-42.17.9293
Joel RumpelWisconsinJunior16-4-11.83.9362
Jimmy SarjeantMercyhurstJunior16-4-52.33.9341
Colin StevensUnionJunior19-4-22.10.9224
Steve SummerhaysNotre DameSenior17-11-21.90.9297
Jason TorfAir ForceSenior11-6-42.60.9111
Adam WilcoxMinnesotaSophomore20-4-51.97.9313
Clay WittNortheasternJunior16-8-32.17.9404


UMass hockey head coach Greg Carvel's mission to repeat starts with new-look roster, avoiding complacency

UMass hockey head coach Greg Carvel spoke with about winning a national title in 2021 and how he hopes to repeat in 2022.

Committee approved a day of rest at DI men’s ice hockey regionals

The Division I Competition Oversight Committee approves change to include a day of rest at DI men’s ice hockey regionals, starting at the 2022 tournament.

How No. 1 overall pick Owen Power decided to stay at Michigan, wait on Sabres and NHL

In an interview with, Owen Power explained his decision to stay at Michigan after being selected No. 1 overall by the Buffalo Sabres in the 2021 NHL Entry Draft.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners