icehockey-men-d3 flag | March 9, 2015

DIII M Ice Hockey championship field

DIII Men's Ice Hockey: 2015 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Committee announced Monday the field of 11 teams for the 2015 NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

• Brackets: Interactive | Printable

Seven conferences have been awarded an automatic qualification.  The remaining four teams were selected at-large by the committee.

The championship playoff format involves three first-round games and four quarterfinal games that are played on the campuses of the participating institutions. All games in the championship are single elimination.

The four quarterfinal winners will advance to Ridder Arena in Minneapolis for the semifinal and championship games, which will be conducted March 27-28. The Northern Collegiate Hockey Association will host the championship.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are:
• ECAC DIII Men’s East Hockey League -- Norwich University (24-3-1)
• ECAC DIII Northeast Hockey League -- Nichols College (21-3-3)
• Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference -- Plymouth State University (16-8-3)
• Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Hamline University (14-10-4)
• New England Small College Athletic Conference -- Amherst College (21-4-2)
• Northern Collegiate Hockey Association -- Adrian College (23-3-3)
• State University of New York Athletic Conference -- Plattsburgh State University of New York (20-5-2)

Hobart College (21-6-0), the State University of New York at Oswego (18-4-4), Trinity College (Connecticut) (21-3-1) and the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (21-6-1) enter the field as the four at-large selections.

The semifinal and championship games will be web streamed live on


Adrian 5 2014 2-4 --
Amherst 4 2012 2-4 --
Hamline 2 2011 1-1 --
Hobart 5 2009 3-4 --
Nichols 3 2014 0-2 --
Norwich 16 2014 24-13-2 3 (2000, 2003, 2010)
Oswego State 14 2014 16-17 1 (2007)
Plattsburgh State 21 2012 22-20-8 2 (1992, 2001)
Plymouth State 2 2012 0-1 --
Trinity (Conn.) 4 2008 2-3 --
Wisconsin-Stevens Point 11 2014 21-13-3 4 (1989-91, 1993)
* -- Includes 2015.

Mailbag: Answering college hockey fans' questions for this season, so far

What’s wrong with the Wisconsin men’s team of late? How can the Ohio State women’s team consistently compete against the top of the WCHA? All those questions and many more are answered in this week’s college hockey mailbag.

College hockey bracketology: How things look less than three months from the Frozen Four

The Frozen Four is about three months away. What better time to get caught up on all things bracketology than now? We've got you covered as college hockey takes on the new year.

5 hot storylines to follow in college hockey from now to the Frozen Four

First-time NCAA tournament appearances, trend-setting defensemen and a potentially historic Hobey Baker race are some of the top college hockey storylines to follow through the 2020 Frozen Four.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners