icehockey-men-d1 flag

Harvard Athletics | March 22, 2015

Vesey eclipses 30-goal mark, Crimson win ECAC

  Michalek made 30 saves to become the second Harvard goalie to record more than 1,000 stops in a season.

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. -- For the ninth time in program history, Harvard raised the Whitelaw Cup as the ECAC Hockey tournament champion after defeating Colgate 4-2 in the title game Saturday at the 1980 Rink in Herb Brooks Arena. The win earns Harvard the ECAC's automatic bid into the NCAA tournament.

With nine titles, Harvard has the second most in ECAC Hockey history, trailing only Cornell's 12. The championship is the first since 2006 for the Crimson and with the automatic bid in hand, Harvard will be making its 22nd appearance in the NCAA tournament next weekend.

In 11 seasons as head coach of the Crimson, Ted Donato has led Harvard to five tournament championship games and two victories.

Following the tournament, ECAC Hockey announced that junior forward Jimmy Vesey was named the tournament's most outstanding player. Joining him on the all-tournament team was defenseman Patrick McNally and goaltender Steve Michalek.

With two goals in the game, Jimmy Vesey improved his season total to 31. He is the first player to score at least 30 goals in single season since Mike Vukonich (32) in 1990-91 and joins Tim Smith (1984-85) and Lane MacDonald (1988-89) at 10th in the Crimson record books. Vesey also set a new ECAC Hockey tournament record with nine goals this post-season, eclipsing Doug Marrett's (Cornell) eight set in 1973.

Steve Michalek made 30 saves against Colgate to become just the second Harvard goalie to record more than 1,000 stops in a season. He'll enter the NCAA tournament with 1,004, just 17 shy of the Harvard record. His 21 wins moves him into a tie for second most in a season with James Bailey, who went 21-5 in 1956-57.

McNally finished the ECAC playoffs with five points on two goals and three assists, including a goal and two helpers Saturday.

Harvard-Stanford 1998 women's basketball: Reliving the first-ever 16-over-1 upset

The Harvard women's basketball team made history in 1998, upsetting Stanford in the first 16-over-1 shocker in NCAA tournament history — men or women. Here's a look back at that day.

FCS football: We picked the top-5 players all-time for Harvard football

Harvard may be known for its academic prowess, but its football program also has a storied history that includes national championships, a Rose Bowl victory, numerous College Football Hall of Fame inductees and more. With such history, let's dive into the top individual players in Harvard history.

Women's college hockey rankings: Harvard rises in latest Power 10

In the latest women's college hockey Power 10 rankings, Harvard rises after taking down Yale this past weekend.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners