icehockey-men-d1 flag | May 20, 2015

Denver to host 2016 Ice Breaker Tournament

The Ice Breaker Tournament, the traditional start to the college hockey season, will be held at Magness Arena on the campus of the University of Denver from Oct. 7-8, 2016.

“Magness Arena and the University of Denver will be fantastic hosts for the 2016 Ice Breaker Tournament,” said Mike Snee, Executive Director of College Hockey Inc. “We are thrilled to showcase our sport and celebrate the start of the 2016 season in such a great venue.”

Air Force, Boston College and Ohio State will join Denver for the tournament.

“We’re very excited to be hosting the Ice Breaker Tournament in partnership with College Hockey Inc. in 2016 and we’re honored that the 20th edition of this fantastic event will be staged at Magness Arena,” said Pioneers head coach Jim Montgomery.

“This tournament is one of the top showcase events for college hockey in the country and we’re thrilled that our great fans will again have the opportunity to experience it firsthand. Denver won this tournament the last time it was at Magness and we’re looking forward to kicking off the 2016-17 college hockey season by taking on some great competition.”

College Hockey Inc., which manages the Ice Breaker Tournament on behalf of the Hockey Commissioners Association, also announced the field for the 2015 tournament, which will be held Oct. 9-10 at the Cross Insurance Arena in Portland, Maine. That event will feature Lake Superior State, Michigan State, North Dakota and the host institution, Maine.

The 2016 Ice Breaker Tournament will mark the 20th anniversary of the event as it returns to Magness Arena for the second time. The first visit, in 1999, saw host Denver win the tournament in the year Magness Arena opened. The Pioneers have only made one other appearance in the Ice Breaker (2006).

Ticket packages and other information about the 2016 Ice Breaker Tournament will be announced by the University of Denver as the event approaches.

Tournament History
Year      Host                                                  Site                                                                  Field (Champion in Bold)
1997      University of Wisconsin                   Dane County Coliseum (Madison)                 BU, Clarkson, Michigan State, Wisconsin
1998      University of Minnesota                   Mariucci Arena (Minneapolis)                        BC, Minnesota, Ohio State, St. Lawrence
1999      University of Denver                        Magness Arena (Denver)                                Denver, Notre Dame, Providence, Union
2000      University of Michigan                     Yost Arena (Ann Arbor)                                Colgate, Michigan, New Hampshire, North Dakota
2001      University of Maine                          Alfond Arena (Orono)                                    Bowling Green, Clarkson, Maine, St. Cloud
2002      University of Wisconsin                   Kohl Center (Madison)                                   BU, Northern Michigan, Rensselaer, Wisconsin
2003      Michigan State University                 Munn Arena (East Lansing)                            BC, Findlay, Minnesota Duluth, Michigan State
2004      University of New Hampshire          Whittemore Center (Durham)                          New Hampshire, Ohio St., St. Cloud, St. Lawrence
2005      Colorado College                              World Arena (Colorado Springs)                    Air Force, Colorado College, Maine, Union
2006      Miami University                              Goggin Ice Arena (Oxford)                            Colgate, Denver, Miami, Vermont
2007      University of Minnesota                   Xcel Energy Center (St. Paul)                         BC, Michigan, Minnesota, Rensselaer
2008      Boston University                             Agganis Arena (Boston)                                 BU, Massachusetts, Michigan State, North Dakota
2009      University of Nebraska Omaha         Qwest Center (Omaha)                                   Army, UMass Lowell, Nebraska Omaha, St. Lawrence
2010      St. Louis Sports Commission           Scottrade Center (St. Louis)                            BU, Holy Cross, Notre Dame, Wisconsin
2011      University of North Dakota              Ralph Engelstad Arena (Grand Forks)            Air Force, BC, Michigan State, North Dakota
2012      Kansas City Sports Commission       Sprint Center (Kansas City)                            Army, Maine, Nebraska Omaha, Notre Dame
2013      University of Minnesota                   Mariucci Arena (Minneapolis)                        Clarkson, Mercyhurst, Minnesota, New Hampshire
2014      University of Notre Dame                 Compton Family Ice Arena (Notre Dame)      Minnesota, Minnesota Duluth, Notre Dame, Rensselaer
2015      University of Maine                          Cross Insurance Arena (Portland)                   Lake Superior St., Maine, Michigan State, North Dakota
2016      University of Denver                        Magness Arena (Denver)                                Air Force, Boston College, Denver, Ohio State

Quinnipiac men's hockey wins first-ever national championship in overtime thriller over Minnesota

For the first time in program history, Quinnipiac has reached the summit of college hockey, defeating Minnesota 3-2 in overtime to win the 2023 NCAA Division I men’s hockey national championship.

2023 Men's Frozen Four: Bracket, scores, schedule for the college hockey championship

Follow the 2023 DI men's ice hockey tournament all the way to the 2023 Frozen Four at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla.

Michigan forward Adam Fantilli wins 2023 Hobey Baker Award as top men's college hockey player

Michigan freshman forward Adam Fantilli is the 2023 Hobey Baker Award winner as the top Division I men's college hockey player.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners