icehockey-men-d1 flag

Mark Bedics | | October 26, 2015

Tickets for the 2016 Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Regionals to go on sale

INDIANAPOLIS---Tickets for all four sites of the 2016 Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Regionals go on sale Tuesday, Oct. 27, at 10 a.m. Eastern time. The tickets, being sold as three-game packages, may be purchased online at or through each venue’s ticket office.

The Northeast Regional hosted by College of the Holy Cross at the DCU Center in Worcester, Massachusetts, and the Midwest Regional hosted by Miami University at U.S. Bank Arena in Cincinnati, Ohio, will be held March 25-26. One regional will have start times of 2 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. Eastern March 25 with a regional final game time at 5:30 p.m. Eastern March 26. The start times for the other regional will be 4:30 p.m. and 8 p.m. Eastern March 25 while the regional final is scheduled for 9 p.m. Eastern March 26.

This will be the 14th time the DCU Center has served as host of an NCAA Hockey Regional, the most of any building in the nation. U.S. Bank Arena also hosted the 2014 Midwest Regional and has been awarded the same honor for 2017. In addition, when it was previously known as Riverfront Coliseum, it served as the host venue for the 1996 Frozen Four.

The East Regional hosted by ECAC Hockey, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and Union College at the Times Union Center in Albany, New York, and the West Regional hosted by the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, at the Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul, Minnesota, will be played March 26-27. Game times for one regional will be 3 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. Eastern March 26, with the regional final being played at 5 p.m. Eastern March 27. The other regional will play at 4 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Eastern March 26, with the regional championship at 7:30 p.m. Eastern March 27.

The Times Union Center will be hosting NCAA hockey championship competition for the 11th time, but the first since 2010. It has hosted a regional round nine times previously, in addition to the 1992 and 2001 Frozen Fours. Since its opening in 2000, the Xcel Energy Center has hosted the 2002 and 2011 Frozen Fours in addition to the West Regional in 2010, 2012 and 2014. The Xcel Energy Center also has been selected to serve as the site of the 2018 Frozen Four. 

If any of the aforementioned host schools are selected to participate in the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, they will be assigned to their host site. The times and ESPN platform for each regional will be announced on the selection show, which will air at noon Eastern March 20 on ESPNU. Times and ESPN networks for all regional contests are subject to change.


Quinnipiac men's hockey wins first-ever national championship in overtime thriller over Minnesota

For the first time in program history, Quinnipiac has reached the summit of college hockey, defeating Minnesota 3-2 in overtime to win the 2023 NCAA Division I men’s hockey national championship.

2023 Men's Frozen Four: Bracket, scores, schedule for the college hockey championship

Follow the 2023 DI men's ice hockey tournament all the way to the 2023 Frozen Four at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla.

Michigan forward Adam Fantilli wins 2023 Hobey Baker Award as top men's college hockey player

Michigan freshman forward Adam Fantilli is the 2023 Hobey Baker Award winner as the top Division I men's college hockey player.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners