icehockey-men-d1 flag

Courtney Martinez | | January 29, 2016

Looking back at the college careers for these NHL All-Stars

Top 10 Plays of the Year: Kaskisuo and the miracle save

Ten former NCAA Division I men's hockey players will represent their divisions in the 2016 NHL All-Star Game and Skills Competition in Nashville on Saturday and Sunday. Between all of them, the men have combined for three NCAA championships, 11 Frozen Fours and 17 tournament appearances.

Let's dive into the college careers for each of the 10 All-Stars.

Cory Schneider, Boston College (2004-07)

New Jersey Devils goaltender Cory Schneider made the postseason all three of his seasons at Boston College, where the Eagles finished the national runner-up in 2006 and 2007. Schneider completed his career with 66 wins and .925 save percentage and recorded the program's single-season record with 1,111 saves in his final season. The goalie holds the career mark with 15 shutouts, eight of which came during the 2006 season and ranks among best single-season marks in NCAA history.

Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College (2011-14)

Frozen Four: Honoring Johnny Gaudreau
Under the tutelage of legendary coach Jerry York, Johnny Gaudreau led the Eagles to 2012 National Championship in the 4-1 win over Ferris State. The Eagles returned to the Frozen Four in 2014 before losing to eventual champion Union during Gaudreau’s final season. The forward was named a 2013 finalist for the Hobey Baker Award and earned college hockey's highest honor a year later before signing his contract with the Calgary Flames. Gaudreau played in 119 games where he scored an incredible 78 goals and tacked on an additional 98 assists.

Ben Bishop, Maine (2005-08)

Ben Bishop recorded a 2.29 goals-against average and .917 save percentage in his 99 games between the pipes for Maine. Bishop and the Black Bears advanced to the Frozen Four in 2006 and 2007. Bishop made 34 saves in the 2006 Frozen Four loss to champion Wisconsin his freshman year. The following year against champion Michigan State the goaltender put up similar numbers with 29 saves. Bishop finished his 3-year career with a 55-35-7 record.

Jonathan Quick, Massachusetts-Amherst (2005-07)

Jonathan Quick, who has won two Stanley Cups and the 2012 Conn Smythe Trophy with Los Angeles, started at UMass for three seasons.  Quick led the Minutemen to their first-ever NCAA Tournament appearance in 2007 and finished with single-season records for wins (19) and saves (1,046). In his final season, Quick was also credited with an empty netter in a 4-2 win over Merrimack on Jan. 6, 2007. The Minutemen went 23-22-6 with Quick in the net, who finished with a .926 save percentage and 2.44 goals against average.

Dylan Larkin, Michigan (2014-15)

Dylan Larkin grew up an hour outside Ann Arbor and played one season at Michigan before turning pro with the Detroit Red Wings. Larkin was unanimously named the 2015 Big Ten Freshman of the Year after leading all freshman with 47 points. His 32 assists were the most by a Michigan freshman since 2007-08. Larkin contributed for 15 goals, six of which were on the power play and three game-winners, to rank second among all freshmen last season.

John Scott, Michigan Tech (2002-06)

John Scott started his professional career in 2008 after he spent four years at Michigan Tech. Scott's 6-foot 8-inch frame came in handy for the Huskies and he collected 347 penalty minutes as Michigan Tech's physical presence on the ice. Scott also scored seven goals and added 12 assists in 126 career games. Scott received his degree in mechanical engineering and still plays in the annual alumni game at Michigan Tech.

Justin Faulk, Minnesota-Duluth (2010-11)

Carolina Hurricanes alternate captain Justin Faulk played 39 games in his one season at Minnesota-Duluth. During the 2010-11 season, Faulk tallied eight goals (including two game-winners), 25 assists and served 47 penalty minutes. In the 2011 Frozen Four semifinal game, the defenseman finished with three assists and was on the ice for all four goals scored in Duluth’s 4-3 win over Notre Dame. Faulk and the Bulldogs defeated Michigan 3-2 in overtime to claim the 2011 National Championship.

Jonathan Toews, North Dakota (2005-07)

Before he won three Stanley Cups as captain for the Chicago Blackhawks, Jonathan Toews played two seasons at North Dakota for current Flyers head coach Dave Hakstol. The center led the program to back-to-back Frozen Four appearances and scored a goal in both losses to Boston College. Toews tallied 40 goals and added 45 assists in 76 games on the ice for UND. Sixteen of Toews' goals came on the power play for UND. Toews will miss the All-Star game due to illness, but it isn't the first NHL All-Star nod and certainly not the last for the center.

Joe Pavelski, Wisconsin (2004-06)

The San Jose Sharks captain was an assist machine and led the team in the category during both seasons in Madison. Pavelski had impressive numbers as a freshman with his 16 goals and 29 assists and followed it up the following year with 23 goals and 33 assists. The forward netted six game-winners for the Badgers during the 2005-06 season and assisted on both goals in the 2006 National Championship game against Boston College.

Ryan McDonagh, Wisconsin (2007-2010)

Ryan McDonagh is the current captain for the New York Rangers but his captain days go back to his time at Wisconsin where he played three seasons for the Badgers. McDonagh set up the game-winning goal over RIT in the 2010 Frozen Four to advance the Badgers to the national championship game against Boston College. The defenseman finished his three years with 14 goals, 32 assists and 172 penalty minutes. During his final year, McDonagh had the second best plus-minus rating at +22.

  Ryan McDonagh (Left) and Joe Pavelski (right)

DII women's basketball programs with the most NCAA DII national championships

Here's a look at the programs that have won multiple DII women's basketball championships.

Where the Miracle on Ice Olympic team played college hockey

Here's where the members of the 1980 Miracle on Ice Olympic hockey team played college hockey.

Every men's college hockey player in the 2023 World Junior Championship

The 2023 World Junior Championship begins next week in Canada as the top under-20 men's ice hockey players from around the world represent their nations in search of gold and glory.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners