icehockey-men-d1 flag

Harvard Athletics | April 8, 2016

Harvard's Vesey wins 2016 Hobey Baker Award

  Jimmy Vesey becomes the fourth player from Harvard to win the Hobey Baker Award.

TAMPA, Fla.  -- Harvard senior forward Jimmy Vesey has been named the 2016 Hobey Baker Award winner as college hockey's top player.

Harvard's co-captain beat out fellow Hat Trick finalists Thatcher Demko, a junior goaltender from Boston College, and Kyle Connor, a freshman forward from Michigan. Vesey was also named to the 2015-16 AHCA/CCM Hockey Men's Division I East All-America Team, as announced by the AHCA during the Hobey Baker Award ceremony. Earlier in the day he was selected as a Senior CLASS Award first team All-American, announced via a press release.

Vesey is the fourth Hobey honoree from Harvard joining Mark Fusco (1983), Scott Fusco (1986) and Lane MacDonald (1989). Those four skaters are the only four Hobey winners from current ECAC Hockey schools.

Vesey becomes the first Harvard player to receive ACHA/CCM first team All-America honors twice in his career since MacDonald '89 earned the honor in 1986-87 and 1988-89. The North Reading, Massachusetts native is one of just seven players in program history to be named first team All-America at least twice in their career. In total, Harvard has had 27 players collect All-America accolades, accounting for 40 total first and second team selections.

A dynamic player, Vesey became the first Harvard skater to be named a Hat Trick Finalist twice in his career since the organization began recognizing a top three in 2002. In 2015, Vesey became the ninth Harvard player to be recognized as a top-10 finalist and first since goaltender Dov Grumet-Morris in 2005.

The ECAC and Ivy League Player of the Year each of the last two seasons, Vesey led the ECAC in goals (17) and points (32) during the conference portion of the schedule. He finished the year with a team-best 24 goals and 46 points. His 0.73 goals per game mark ranked fourth nationally, while his 1.39 points per contest average was seventh. His stellar play has also earned him the Walter Brown Award each of the last two seasons as New England's best American-born Division I college hockey player.

A complete student-athlete, Vesey was recognized as a Senior CLASS Award first team All-American as well on Friday. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive difference as leaders in their communities. Vesey will graduate in May with a degree in government and has been a willing contributor and participant in a plethora of community service activities the Harvard men's hockey team has undertaken the last two years.

Vesey leaves Harvard as one of the most prolific scorers in program history. He is one of just five players to don the Crimson sweater to score 80 goals in their career, while his 144 points is tied for 12th all-time with Ted Donato '91, the current Robert D. Ziff '88 Head Coach for Harvard Men's Ice Hockey.

The longest overtime games in FCS college football history

The longest games in FCS history feature many multiple-overtime classics, including Rhode Island's 2022 win over Monmouth in seven overtimes.

These are the 10 oldest stadiums in Division I college football

College football has been around since 1869, meaning some stadiums are celebrating triple-digit birthdays. Here's a look at the 10 oldest stadiums in the sport's history.

Harvard takes down BC 5-4 in thriller to win 2022 women's Beanpot

Harvard won its 15th Beanpot with its 5-4 win over BC on Tuesday night.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners