icehockey-men-d1 flag | February 13, 2017

Harvard defeats BU to capture first Beanpot title since 1993

  Harvard won its 11th Beanpot title in program history Monday night.

No. 3 Harvard hockey defeated No. 4 Boston University 6-3 Monday night at TD Garden to claim the 65th annual Beanpot trophy.

The victory marks the 11th title in program history and the first since 1993. The Beanpot tournament is an annual February tournament that features Harvard, BU, BC and Northeastern in a two-weekend tournament between Boston's top hockey programs.

Harvard's Nathan Krusko scored two goals and earned Beanpot MVP honors while the Crimson as a team birraged BU goalie Jake Oettinger with shots on net, finishing with a 47-16 margin for the game.

In the consolation game held before Monday's championship match, Northeastern came away with the 4-2 upset over BC to take home third place.

Follow below for full updates and reactions from Monday's Beanpot action.

RELATED: Numbers to know in Beanpot history

BU's Jay Pandolfo, Michigan's Brandon Naurato forging paths as first-year coaches at alma maters

Michigan and Boston University are two men's college hockey programs steeped in rich history, but first-year head coaches Brandon Naurato and Jay Pandolfo are looking to make their own marks at the 2023 Men's Frozen Four.

2023 Men's Frozen Four: Predicting the national championship

The 2023 Men's Frozen Four is exactly one week away, and this year's field is one of the best in recent memory. Here's who's Patrick Donnelly thinks will win it all.

Here is every NHL prospect competing in the 2023 Men's Frozen Four

The 2023 Men's Frozen Four is loaded with potential professional hockey prospects with a whopping 41 NHL draft picks between Minnesota, Quinnipiac, Michigan and Boston University combined.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners