icehockey-men-d1 flag

AHCA | March 28, 2017

College hockey: Spencer Penrose Award for CCM/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year Finalists Announced

  Minnesota Duluth's Scott Sandelin is one of three Penrose Award winners nominated for the 2017 honor.

Ten coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2016-17 have been named nalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Voting will be conducted prior to this year's Frozen Four in Chicago, and the winner will be announced on Wednesday, April 5.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey semi finals. Of this year's finalists, four are past recipients of this award: Norm Bazin of UMass Lowell (2013), Rick Bennett of Union College (2014), Jeff Jackson of Notre Dame (2007) and Scott Sandelin of Minnesota Duluth (2004.)

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments. The actual award will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Wednesday evening, April 26. The AHCA Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association and sponsored by CCM.

The CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2016-2017 AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
Norm Bazin UMass Lowell Hockey East Coach of the Year*
Rick Bennett Union ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year*
Ted Donato Harvard NCAA Semi-Finalist
Tony Granato Wisconsin Big Ten Coach of the Year
Jeff Jackson Notre Dame NCAA Semi-Finalist*
Jim Montgomery Denver NCAA Semi-Finalist
Andy Murray Western Michigan NCHC Coach of the Year
Scott Sandelin Minnesota Duluth NCAA Semi-Finalist*
Tom Serratore Bemidji State WCHA Coach of the Year
Dave Smith Canisius Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year

* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award Division One Coach of the Year
1951 Edward Jeremiah Dartmouth
1952 Cheddy Thompson Colorado College
1953 John Mariucci Minnesota
1954 Vic Heyliger Michigan
1955 Ralph “Cooney” Weiland Harvard
1956 William Harrison Clarkson
1957 Jack Riley Army
1958 Harry Cleverly Boston University
1959 John “Snooks” Kelley Boston College
1960 Jack Riley Army
1961 Murray Armstrong Denver
1962 Jack Kelley Colby
1963 Tony Frasca Colorado College
1964 Tom Eccleston Providence
1965 Jim Fullerton Brown
1966 Amo Bessone Michigan State
1967 Edward Jeremiah Dartmouth
1968 Ned Harkness Cornell
1969 Charlie Holt New Hampshire
1970 John MacInnes Michigan Tech
1971 Ralph “Cooney” Weiland Harvard
1972 John “Snooks” Kelley Boston College
1973 Len Ceglarski Boston College
1974 Charlie Holt New Hampshire
1975 Jack Parker Boston University
1976 John MacInnes Michigan Tech
1977 Jerry York Clarkson
1978 Jack Parker Boston University
1979 Charlie Holt New Hampshire
1980 Rick Comley Northern Michigan
1981 Bill O’Flaherty Clarkson
1982 Fernie Flaman Northeastern
1983 Bill Cleary Harvard
1984 Mike Sertich Minnesota-Duluth
1985 Len Ceglarski Boston College
1986 Ralph Backstrom Denver
1987 John “Gino” Gasparini North Dakota
1988 Frank Anzalone Lake Superior
1989 Joe Marsh St. Lawrence
1990 Terry Slater Colgate
1991 Rick Comley Northern Michigan
1992 Ron Mason Michigan State
1993 George Gwozdecky Miami
1994 Don Lucia Colorado College
1995 Shawn Walsh Maine
1996 Bruce Crowder UMass-Lowell
1997 Dean Blais North Dakota
1998 Tim Taylor Yale
1999 Richard Umile New Hampshire
2000 Joe Marsh St. Lawrence
2001 Dean Blais North Dakota
2002 Tim Whitehead Maine
2003 Bob Daniels Ferris State
2004 Scott Sandelin Minnesota Duluth
2005 George Gwozdecky Denver
2006 Enrico Blasi Miami
2007 Jeff Jackson Notre Dame
2008 Red Berenson Michigan
2009 Jack Parker Boston University
2010 Wayne Wilson RIT
2011 Nate Leaman Union
2012 Bob Daniels Ferris State
2013 Norm Bazin UMass Lowell
2014 Rick Bennett Union
2015 Mike Hastings Minnesota State
2016 Rand Pecknold Quinnipiac

Boston University leads preseason Power 5 men's hockey rankings

Ahead of the kickoff of the 2023 men's ice hockey season in three weeks, here are Jordan Menard's preseason Power 5.

Quinnipiac men's hockey wins first-ever national championship in overtime thriller over Minnesota

For the first time in program history, Quinnipiac has reached the summit of college hockey, defeating Minnesota 3-2 in overtime to win the 2023 NCAA Division I men’s hockey national championship.

2023 Men's Frozen Four: Bracket, scores, schedule for the college hockey championship

Follow the 2023 DI men's ice hockey tournament all the way to the 2023 Frozen Four at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners