icehockey-men-d1 flag

Let's Play Hockey | April 8, 2017

Denver's Tanner Jaillet named 2017 Mike Richter Award winner

  Tanner Jaillet posted five games with 30 or more saves this season.

CHICAGO - Junior Tanner Jaillet of the University of Denver has been named the winner of the 2017 Mike Richter Award as the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men's hockey. Jaillet was presented with the award by Mike Richter on Friday night in Chicago, which is the site of the 2016 NCAA Frozen Four.

A native of Red Deer, Alberta, Jaillet has backstopped top-ranked Denver to within one win of its first NCAA Championship since 2005.  The NCHC Goaltender of the Year and a member of the All-NCHC First Team, Jaillet has posted a 27-5-4 record and ranks second in the nation in wins

(27) and winning percentage (.806), third in goals-against average (1.83) and eighth in save percentage (.928). He helped the Pioneers capture their first NCHC regular season title, leading the conference in save percentage, goals-against average and wins.

Jaillet has posted five games with 30 or more saves and has notched a .930 or better save percentage in 21 games this season. The NCHC Player of the Month for January and four-time NCHC Goalie of the Week has started all but six games this season and has allowed two goals or less 28 times. Jaillet's efforts have helped the Pioneers become the stingiest defense in the nation with only 1.81 goals allowed per game this season.

For his career, Jaillet is 59-18-9 (.738) with a 2.11 goals-against average and a .923 save percentage. He ranks second in the Denver record book in goals-against average, fourth in wins and fifth in save percentage. Jaillet is a business information and analytics major at the University of Denver.

The other finalists for the 2017 Mike Richter Award were Michael Bitzer of Bemidji State, Hunter Miska of Minnesota Duluth, Cal Petersen of Notre Dame and Charles Williams of Canisius.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men's hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner were selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Trends we are seeing this February in college hockey, so far

Catch up on all the trends in men's college hockey as we embark into February 2020.

Denver vs. Minnesota Duluth college hockey: 3 things to know ahead of the top-10 series

No. 4 Denver men's hockey hosts No. 10 Minnesota Duluth for a two-game series on Jan. 31 and Feb. 1. Here’s what you need to know about the matchup before the puck drops on a classic NCHC showdown.

College hockey bracketology: What things look like two months before tournament selections

The Frozen Four is closer than you think. Catch up on all things college hockey in this week's edition of bracketology.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners