icehockey-men-d1 flag

Kevin Kurtt | Let's Play Hockey | October 5, 2017

20 goalies named to Mike Richter Award watch list for 2017-18

  Denver's Tanner Jaillet, who took home the Richter Award last season, makes the watch list for 2017-18.

Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 20 goalies named to the watch list for the 2018 Mike Richter Award, which annually honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA Division I men’s hockey. The winner of the fifth annual award will be announced at the 2018 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minn.

In alphabetical order, the goalies on the watch list for the 2018 Mike Richter Award are:

Watch List
Name School Year
Michael Bitzer * Bemidji State Senior
Ben Blacker Western Michigan Sophomore
Hayden Hawkey Providence Junior
Kyle Hayton ^ Wisconsin Senior
Adam Huska Connecticut Sophomore
Tanner Jaillet $ Denver Senior
Cam Johnson ! North Dakota Senior
Peyton Jones Penn State Sophomore
Justin Kapelmaster Ferris State Sophomore
Jake Kielly Clarkson Sophomore
Merrick Madsen # Harvard Senior
Francis Marotte Robert Morris Sophomore
Jake Oettinger # Boston University Sophomore
Jason Pawloski Minnesota State Junior
Aidan Pelino Bentley Sophomore
Eric Schierhorn Minnesota Junior
Andrew Shortridge Quinnipiac Sophomore
Atte Tolvanen Northern Michigan Junior
Tyler Wall UMass Lowell Sophomore
Joseph Woll Boston College Sophomore

$ 2017 Mike Richter Award winner

* 2017 finalist

# 2017 semifinalist

! 2016 finalist

^ 2015 finalist

Goalies on the Mike Richter Award watch list are chosen by members of Let’s Play Hockey, utilizing both past performance and future potential. Freshmen are not included.

RELATED: Union goalie Kupsky sparkles in starting debut

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award will be determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The semifinalists, finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:

- Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice

- Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university

- Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship

- Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season

- Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

Past winners: 2017 Tanner Jaillet (Denver), 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)

2022 NCAA men's hockey tournament bracket predictions, 2 months to selections

With it being two months from selections, it's a good time to predict the 2022 men's DI ice hockey bracket.

Men's college hockey rankings: Denver rises, UMass Lowell joins latest Power 10

In the latest men's college hockey rankings, Denver rises into the top 5 and UMass Lowell joins the latest Power 10.

Men's hockey: Three-goal second powers Northern Michigan past No. 1 Minnesota State

The Northern Michigan Wildcat hockey team recorded three second period goals en route to taking down the No. 1 Minnesota State Mavericks 4-2 on Friday, Jan. 14.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners