icehockey-men-d1 flag

Kevin Kurtt | Let's Play Hockey | March 8, 2018

Ten semifinalists announced for 2018 Mike Richter Award

College Hockey | Top Five Plays

CHANHASSEN, MINN. — Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2018 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. The five finalists for the fifth annual award will be announced on Thursday, March 22, with the winner presented on Friday, April 6 at the 2018 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minn. In alphabetical order, following are the semifinalists for the 2018 Mike Richter Award:

Name School Year MIN Record GAA SV% SO SVS
Matthew Galajda Cornell Freshman 1446:45 19-3-2 1.49 .941 8 574

Dávid Hrenák

St. Cloud State Freshman 1080:30 11-4-2 1.94 .928 3 452
Tanner Jaillet Denver Senior 1891:41 17-7-7 1.93 .926 5 764
Jake Keilly Clarkson Sophomore 1968:08 19-8-6 1.86 .929 7 796
Connor LaCouvee Minnesota State Senior 1545:14 22-3-1 1.75 .917 3 494
Cale Morris Notre Dame Sophomore 1808:37 22-7-1 1.92 .945 4 1005
Colton Point Colgate Sophomore 1817:05 15-10-5 1.62 .948 6 896
Cayden Primeau Northeastern Freshman 1755:43 17-6-5 1.85 .933 4 751
Sean Romeo Ohio State Junior 1906:16 19-8-5 2.08 .925 2 816
Hunter Shepard  Minnesota Duluth Sophomore  1912:45 19-12-1 2.04 .923 6 780

The semifinalists combine for a 1.85 goals-against average, a .932 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.18.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The semifinalists, finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:

  •  Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
  •  Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
  •  Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
  •  Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent
  • or more of the season
  •  Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

Past winners: 2017 Tanner Jaillet (Denver), 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)

NOTES: There are five Americans, four Canadians and one Slovak among the semifinalists • The 10 semifinalists represent four different U.S. states – Minnesota leads with two, followed by Colorado, New Jersey and North Carolina with one each • Three Canadian provinces are represented – Ontario leads with two, followed by Alberta and British Columbia • Conference breakdown – Big Ten 2, ECAC 3, Hockey East 1, NCHC 3, WCHA 1 • The semifinalists include two seniors, one junior, four sophomore and three freshmen.

North Dakota's Jake Sanderson headlines college players taken in 2020 NHL draft first round

North Dakota's Jake Sanderson was one of three college hockey players taken in the first round of the 2020 NHL Draft.

These are the college hockey teams with the most Stanley Cup winners

Boston University, Wisconsin, North Dakota, Michigan and Boston University lead all colleges and universities with the most Stanley Cup champion alumni.

Colleges with the most NHL 1st-round draft picks, all time

Since the first NHL Draft in 1963, there have been 173 college hockey players selected from 28 NCAA Division I programs.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners