icehockey-men-d3 flag | March 24, 2019

Wisconsin-Stevens Point wins DIII men's hockey championship

Wisconsin-Stevens Point captures 2019 DIII men's Ice Hockey Title

Wisconsin-Stevens Point is your 2019 Division III men's hockey national championship. It beat Norwich in an overtime thriller to take the crown.

FINAL: Interactive | Printable 

Jordan Fader, Steven Quagliata and Colin Raver all notched goals for Stevens Point. It notched a whopping 45 shots on goal in this instant classic. Connor Ryckman had 26 saves for the national champions, and Wisconsin Stevens Point was in control for most of the final game despite the tight score.

 Here is the updated full championship history following the DIII men's hockey tournament entering semifinal's action:

Year Champion Coach Score Runner-Up Host or Site
2019 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (29-0-2) Tyler Krueger 3-2 (OT) Norwich Stevens Point, WI
2018 St. Norbert (27-4-1) Tim Coghlin 3-2 (2ot) Salve Regina Lake Placid, N.Y.
2017 Norwich (27-1-3) Mike McShane 4-1 Trinity (Conn.) Utica, N.Y.
2016 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (23-5-2)  Chris Brooks 5-1 St. Norbert Lake Placid, N.Y.
2015 Trinity (Conn.) (25-3-1) Matthew Greason 5-2 Wis.-Stevens Point Minneapolis
2014 St. Norbert (28-3-1) Tim Coghlin 3-1 Wis.-Stevens Point Lewiston, Maine
2013 Wisconsin-Eau Claire (24-5-2) Matt Loen 5-3 Oswego State Lake Placid, N.Y.
2012 St. Norbert (21-5-5) Tim Coghlin 4-1 Oswego State Lake Placid, N.Y.
2011 St. Norbert (25-4-1) Tim Coghlin 4-3 Adrian Minneapolis
2010 Norwich (26-1-4) Mike McShane 2-1 (ot) St. Norbert Lake Placid, N.Y.
2009 Neumann (21-9-2) Dominick Dawes 4-1 Gustavus Adolphus Lake Placid, N.Y.
2008 St. Norbert (27-1-4) Tim Coghlin 2-0 Plattsburgh State Lake Placid, N.Y.
2007 Oswego State (23-3-3) Ed Gosek 4-3 (ot) Middlebury Wisconsin-Superior
2006 Middlebury (26-2-2) Bill Beaney 3-0 St. Norbert Elmira
2005 Middlebury (23-4-3) Bill Beaney 5-0 St. Thomas (Minn.) Middlebury
2004 Middlebury (27-3) Bill Beaney 1-0 (ot) St. Norbert Norwich
2003 Norwich (27-3) Mike McShane 2-1 Oswego State Norwich
2002 Wisconsin-Superior (24-5-5) Dan Stauber 3-2 (ot) Norwich Middlebury
2001 Plattsburgh State (29-5) Bob Emery 6-2 Rochester Institue Rochester Institute
2000 Norwich (29-2-1) Mike McShane 2-1 St. Thomas (Minn.) Wisconsin-Superior
1999 Middlebury (21-5-1) Bill Beaney 5-0 Wisconsin-Superior Norwich
1998 Middlebury (24-2-2) Bill Beaney 2-1 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Plattsburgh State
1997 Middlebury (22-3-2) Bill Beaney 3-2 Wisconsin-Superior Middlebury
1996 Middlebury (26-2-0) Bill Beaney 3-2 Rochester Institue Wisconsin-River Falls
1995 Middlebury (23-2-2) Bill Beaney 1-0 Fredonia State Middlebury
1994 Wisconsin-River Falls (21-8-4) Dean Talafous 6-4 Wisconsin-Superior Wisconsin-Superior
1993 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (25-5-2) Joe Baldarotta 4-3 (ot) Wisconsin-River Falls Maplewood, Minn.
1992 Plattsburgh State (32-2-2) Bob Emery 7-3 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Plattsburgh State
1991 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (27-9) Mark Mazzoleni 6-2 Minnesota State-Mankato Elmira
1990 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (28-4-6) Mark Mazzoleni 10-1, 3-6, 1-0 Plattsburgh State Wisconsin-Stevens Point
1989 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (34-5-2) Mark Mazzoleni 3-3, 3-2 Rochester Institue Rochester Institute
1988 Wisconsin-River Falls (31-6-1) Rick Kozuback 7-1, 3-5, 3-0 Elmira Elmira
1987 #Plattsburgh State (34-6) Steve Hoar 8-3 Oswego State Plattsburgh State
1986 Bemidji State (25-9-1) R.H. Peters 8-5 #Plattsburgh State Bemidji State
1985 Rochester Institute (26-6) Bruce Delventhal 5-1 Bemidji State Union (N.Y.)
1984 Babson (27-5-1) Rob Riley 8-0 Union (N.Y.) Rochester Institute

Players from DIII football programs on 2019 NFL rosters

NFL teams made their final cuts this weekend. Here are the nine players who made it on NFL teams who hail from Division II football programs.

The DII men's lacrosse programs with the most national championships

Let's take a look through the DII men's lacrosse history books at the six programs that have racked up the most national titles.

College lacrosse: Hobart upsets Saint Joseph's to win NEC championship

Led by Jackson Brown, the Statesmen upset top-seeded Saint Joseph's, 11-7, to earn the conference's automatic bid.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners