icehockey-men-d1 flag

Shannon Scovel | | June 14, 2019

These are the college hockey teams with the most Stanley Cup winners

Take a look back at the sights and sounds from a historic Frozen Four

When St. Louis Blues winger Zach Sanford lifted the Stanley Cup with his record-breaking team on Wednesday night, he made history, both for his franchise and his alma mater. The former Boston College star helped bring the first Stanley Cup championship to St. Louis, and his win also elevated Boston College to the top of the list of schools with the most Stanley Cups. For the 20th time, an Eagle had his name etched into the heralded trophy. 

Twelve different players have combined for the 20 Boston College championships with Brooks Orpik, Kevin Stevens, Rob Scuderi, Bill Guerin, Doug Brown and Brian Dumoulin each winning the cup twice. 

STANLEY CUP CHAMPIONS: Sanford becomes Boston College's 20th alumnus to win the Stanley Cup

The Eagles lead all schools with 20 Stanley Cups, and Wisconsin follows in a close second with 19. North Dakota, Michigan and Boston University round out the top five with 17, 16 and 11 cups respectively. Here is the full list of the schools where each of the Stanley Cup champions played college hockey. 

Boston College 20
(12 different players)

Brooks Orpik, Brian Dumoulin, Ben Smith, Bill Guerin, Rob Scuderi, Ryan Shannon, Brian Gionta, Doug Brown, Brian Leetch, Kevin Stevens, Joe Mullen, Zach Sanford

Wisconsin 19 (13 different players)

Justin Schultz, Chris Chelios, Davis Drewiske, Adam Burish, Brian Rafalski, Steve Reinprecht, Bruce Driver, Mike Richter, Sean Hill, Paul Stanton, Gary Suter, David Maley, Brian Engblom

North Dakota 17 (11 different players)

T.J. Oshie, Carter Rowney, Jonathan Toews, Matt Greene, Mike Commodore, Brad Bombardir, Craig Ludwig, Ed Belfour, Tony Hrkac, Jay Caufield, Geoff Smith

Michigan 16 (9 different players)

Kevin Porter, Carl Hagelin, John Madden, Aaron Ward, Blake Sloan, Mike Knuble, Pat Hughes, Red Berenson, John Sherf

Boston University 11 (9 different players)

Alex Chiasson, Nick Bonino, Joe DiPenta, Jay Pandolfo, Chris Drury, Scott Young, Ed Ronan, Shawn McEachern, Scott Young

Minnesota Duluth 11 (7 different players) 

Matt Niskanen, Brett Hull, Shjon Podein, Derek Plante, Tom Kurvers, Dave Langevin, Glenn Resch

Notre Dame 11 (6 different players)

Ian Cole, Bryan Rust, Mark Eaton, Brett Lebda, Don Jackson, Bill Nyrop

Michigan State 11 (7 different players)

Duncan Keith, Drew Miller, Rod Brind'Amour, Andrew Hutchinson, Danton Cole, Joe Murphy, Craig Simpson, Mackenzie MacEachern

Minnesota 10 (9 different players) 

Phil Kessel, Nick Leddy, Alex Goligoski, Ben Clymer, Neal Broten, Tom Chorske, Chris McAlpine, Frank Pietrangelo, Mike Polich

Cornell 9 (2 different players)

Joe Niewendyk, Ken Dryden

Denver 8 (3 different players)

Glenn Anderson, John MacMillan, Tyler Bozak

Vermont 8 (6 different players)

Patrick Sharp, Viktor Stalberg, Tim Thomas, Martin St. Louis, Eric Perrin, John LeClair

Bowling Green 7 (4 different players) 

Rob Blake, Greg de Vries, Brian MacLellan, Ken Morrow

New Hampshire 7 (6 different players)

Trevor van Riemsdyk, Bryan Muir, Kevin Dean, Normand Lacombe, Dave Lumley, Rod Langway

Clarkson 6 (5 different players)

Willie Mitchell, Todd Marchant, Kent Huskins, Erik Cole, Colin Patterson

Providence 6 (4 different players)

Hal Gill, Chris Terreri, Peter Taglianetti, Steve Rooney

St. Cloud State 6 (4 different players)

Matt Cullen, Joe Motzko, Bret Hedican, Frank Brimsek

UMass Lowell 6 (3 different players) 

Ron Hainsey, Scott Wilson, Craig MacTavish

Miami 5 (4 different players)

Jeff Zatkoff, Kevyn Adams, Dan Boyle, Alec Martinez

Michigan Tech 5 (3 different players)

Randy McKay, Bob Lorimer, Tony Esposito

Ferris State 4

Chris Kunitz

Lake Superior State 4 (Four different players)

Doug Weight, John Grahame, Jim Dowd, Brian Rolston

Massachusetts 4 (Two different players)

Conor Sheary, Jonathan Quick

Alaska-Fairbanks 3  (Two different players)

Jordan Hendry, Shawn Chambers

Harvard 3 (Two different players)

Craig Adams, George Owen

Maine 3 (Two different players)

Scott Darling, Dustin Penner

Alaska-Anchorage 2 (Two different players)

Jay Beagle, Mike Peluso

Dartmouth 2 (Two different players)

Ben Lovejoy, Myles Lane

Ohio State 2

Jamie Macoun

Omaha 2 (Two different players)

Josh Archibald, Jake Guentzel

Princeton 2 (Two different players)

Kevin Westgarth, George Parros

St. Lawrence 2 (Two different players)

Brandon Bollig, Rich Peverley

Western Michigan 2 (Two different players)

Glenn Healy, Jamal Mayers

Army 1

Dan Hinote

Bemidji State 1 Joel Otto
Colgate 1

Andy McDonald

Colorado College 2 (Two different players)

Jaden Schwartz, Doug Lidster

Gonzaga 1 Frank McCool
Minnesota State 1

Ryan Carter

Northeastern 1

Chris Nilan

Northern Michigan 1

Dallas Drake

Rensselaer 1

Mike McPhee

*Data from College Hockey Inc. 

The longest games in DI college baseball history

Here is the longest game in DI college baseball per innings and the longest per game time. 

Women's hockey: Boston College's Hannah Bilka is the 2019-20 National Rookie of the Year

Boston College's Hannah Bilka has been named the 2019-20 National Rookie of the Year in women’s ice hockey.

College hockey awards: 10 semifinalists named for the 2020 Mike Richter Award

The 10 semifinalists for the 2020 Mike Richter Award were announced Tuesday, March 24 by Let’s Play Hockey. The Mike Richter Award honors the nation’s top collegiate goaltender.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners