icehockey-men-d1 flag

Shannon Scovel | | October 6, 2020

These are the college hockey teams with the most Stanley Cup winners

Take a look back at the sights and sounds from a historic Frozen Four

Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Ryan McDonagh lifted the Stanley Cup on Sept. 28 following his franchise's second NHL championship. The win was ceremonious as McDonagh won the first title of a decade-long career, though it was also historic for his alma mater as the former Wisconsin star became the 14th Badger — the most by any school — to have his name etched into the Stanley Cup. McDonagh helped bring a championship back to Tampa Bay. It is the 20th Stanley Cup title won by Wisconsin hockey alumni, tied with Boston College for the most by a single program.

Fourteen different players have combined for the 20 Wisconsin championships as Brian Rafalski and Chris Chelios each won three Stanley Cups while Justin Schultz and Paul Stanton both won a pair of titles.

The Badgers and Eagles lead all schools with 20 Stanley Cups while North Dakota, Michigan and Boston University round out the top five with 17, 16 and 12 cups respectively. Here is the full list of the schools where each of the Stanley Cup champions played college hockey. 

Boston College 20
(12 different players)

Brooks Orpik, Brian Dumoulin, Ben Smith, Bill Guerin, Rob Scuderi, Ryan Shannon, Brian Gionta, Doug Brown, Brian Leetch, Kevin Stevens, Joe Mullen, Zach Sanford

Wisconsin 20 (14 different players)

Ryan McDonagh, Justin Schultz, Chris Chelios, Davis Drewiske, Adam Burish, Brian Rafalski, Steve Reinprecht, Bruce Driver, Mike Richter, Sean Hill, Paul Stanton, Gary Suter, David Maley, Brian Engblom

North Dakota 17 (11 different players)

T.J. Oshie, Carter Rowney, Jonathan Toews, Matt Greene, Mike Commodore, Brad Bombardir, Craig Ludwig, Ed Belfour, Tony Hrkac, Jay Caufield, Geoff Smith

Michigan 16 (9 different players)

Kevin Porter, Carl Hagelin, John Madden, Aaron Ward, Blake Sloan, Mike Knuble, Pat Hughes, Red Berenson, John Sherf

Boston University 12 (10 different players)

Kevin, Shattenkirk, Alex Chiasson, Nick Bonino, Joe DiPenta, Jay Pandolfo, Chris Drury, Scott Young, Ed Ronan, Shawn McEachern, Scott Young

Minnesota Duluth 11 (7 different players) 

Matt Niskanen, Brett Hull, Shjon Podein, Derek Plante, Tom Kurvers, Dave Langevin, Glenn Resch

Notre Dame 11 (6 different players)

Ian Cole, Bryan Rust, Mark Eaton, Brett Lebda, Don Jackson, Bill Nyrop

Michigan State 11 (7 different players)

Duncan Keith, Drew Miller, Rod Brind'Amour, Andrew Hutchinson, Danton Cole, Joe Murphy, Craig Simpson, Mackenzie MacEachern

Minnesota 10 (9 different players) 

Phil Kessel, Nick Leddy, Alex Goligoski, Ben Clymer, Neal Broten, Tom Chorske, Chris McAlpine, Frank Pietrangelo, Mike Polich

Cornell 9 (2 different players)

Joe Niewendyk, Ken Dryden

Denver 8 (3 different players)

Glenn Anderson, John MacMillan, Tyler Bozak

Vermont 8 (6 different players)

Patrick Sharp, Viktor Stalberg, Tim Thomas, Martin St. Louis, Eric Perrin, John LeClair

Bowling Green 7 (4 different players) 

Rob Blake, Greg de Vries, Brian MacLellan, Ken Morrow

New Hampshire 7 (6 different players)

Trevor van Riemsdyk, Bryan Muir, Kevin Dean, Normand Lacombe, Dave Lumley, Rod Langway

Clarkson 6 (5 different players)

Willie Mitchell, Todd Marchant, Kent Huskins, Erik Cole, Colin Patterson

Providence 6 (4 different players)

Hal Gill, Chris Terreri, Peter Taglianetti, Steve Rooney

St. Cloud State 6 (4 different players)

Matt Cullen, Joe Motzko, Bret Hedican, Frank Brimsek

UMass Lowell 6 (3 different players) 

Ron Hainsey, Scott Wilson, Craig MacTavish

Miami 6 (5 different players)

Blake Coleman, Jeff Zatkoff, Kevyn Adams, Dan Boyle, Alec Martinez

Michigan Tech 5 (3 different players)

Randy McKay, Bob Lorimer, Tony Esposito

Ferris State 4

Chris Kunitz

Lake Superior State 4 (Four different players)

Doug Weight, John Grahame, Jim Dowd, Brian Rolston

Massachusetts 4 (Two different players)

Conor Sheary, Jonathan Quick

Alaska-Fairbanks 3  (Two different players)

Jordan Hendry, Shawn Chambers

Harvard 4 (Three different players)

Alex Killorn, Craig Adams, George Owen

Maine 3 (Two different players)

Scott Darling, Dustin Penner

Alaska-Anchorage 2

Jay Beagle, Mike Peluso

Dartmouth 2

Ben Lovejoy, Myles Lane

Ohio State 2

Jamie Macoun

Omaha 2

Josh Archibald, Jake Guentzel

Princeton 2

Kevin Westgarth, George Parros

St. Lawrence 2

Brandon Bollig, Rich Peverley

Western Michigan 2

Glenn Healy, Jamal Mayers

Army 1

Dan Hinote

Bemidji State 1 Joel Otto
Colgate 1

Andy McDonald

Colorado College 3

Jaden Schwartz, Doug Lidster, Curtis McElhinney

Gonzaga 1 Frank McCool
Minnesota State 1

Ryan Carter

Northeastern 1

Chris Nilan

Northern Michigan 1

Dallas Drake

Rensselaer 1

Mike McPhee

*Data from College Hockey Inc. 

USWNT's NCAA stars at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup

20 former NCAA athletes will play for the United States women's national soccer team (USWNT) in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The longest games in DI college baseball history

Let's take a look at the longest games in college baseball history and hear from those who witnessed two of them.

Zay Flowers: College football career, stats, highlights, records

Here's a quick guide to wide receiver Zay Flower's college career at Boston College.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners