icehockey-men-d1 flag

Evan Marinofsky | | February 7, 2022

BU men's hockey survives Harvard comeback to take down the Crimson, 4-3, in 2022 Beanpot semifinal

Meet the NCAA men's hockey stars in the Olympics for Team USA

Boston University men's hockey took down Harvard, 4-3, to move on to the Beanpot final. It's the 55th time the Terriers have advanced to the final. 

For the majority of the game, the Terriers were the much better team. 

RANKINGS: Check out the latest USCHO poll

It all started in the back half of the first period when senior Logan Cockerill converted on a tremendous individual effort. He picked up the puck and blazed past Harvard defender Jack Bar. He cut across the slot and slipped it past Crimson goalie Mitchell Gibson to make it 1-0. 

Even after Harvard responded 37 seconds later with a goal from Casey Dornbach, the Terriers came back roughly two minutes later to make it 2-1. This time, it was junior Jay O'Brien ripping one past Gibson to make it 2-1. 

The first half of the second period was all about BU. First, it was junior Matt Brown who fired one past Gibson on the power play to make it 3-1. Then it was junior Ethan Phillips tipping freshman Ty Gallagher's shot in to make it 4-1 BU. 

Harvard didn't give up. In the final two minutes of the second period, the Crimson rattled off two goals in 22 seconds to cut the BU lead to 4-3. The first came off the stick of first-year Zakary Karpa. The second was a rebound knocked home by senior Jack Donato. 

LIVE UPDATES: Follow the 2022 Beanpot tournament from start to finish 

Despite the first two periods featuring seven goals combined, the third period was scoreless. Harvard threw all it could at BU in the final minutes, but it wasn't enough, as the Terriers held off the comeback. 

BU will play the winner of Northeastern and Boston College next Monday in the Beanpot championship. 

Quinnipiac men's hockey wins first-ever national championship in overtime thriller over Minnesota

For the first time in program history, Quinnipiac has reached the summit of college hockey, defeating Minnesota 3-2 in overtime to win the 2023 NCAA Division I men’s hockey national championship.

2023 Men's Frozen Four: Bracket, scores, schedule for the college hockey championship

Follow the 2023 DI men's ice hockey tournament all the way to the 2023 Frozen Four at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla.

Michigan forward Adam Fantilli wins 2023 Hobey Baker Award as top men's college hockey player

Michigan freshman forward Adam Fantilli is the 2023 Hobey Baker Award winner as the top Division I men's college hockey player.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners