icehockey-men-d3 flag

NCAA | March 6, 2023

2023 NCAA Division III men's ice hockey committee selects championship field

DIII men's ice hockey: 2023 selection show

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Committee announced today the field of 12 teams for the 2023 NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship. Nine conferences have been awarded an automatic qualification.

The remaining three teams were selected at-large by the committee.

The championship playoff format involves four first-round games, March 11 and four quarterfinal games, March 18 that are played on the campuses of the participating institutions. All games in the championship are single elimination. The host for the championship semi-final and finals will be confirmed Saturday night, March 18 after the conclusion of the quarterfinal games.

CHAMPS: Adrian wins 2022 title

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are:

Commonwealth Coast Conference: Endicott College (22-2-2)
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference: Plymouth State University (23-3-1)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Augsburg University (16-9-2)
New England Hockey Conference: Hobart College (26-2-0)
New England Small College Athletic Conference: Bowdoin College (15-9-3)
Northern Collegiate Hockey Association: Adrian College (23-4-2)
State University of New York Athletic Conference: Plattsburgh State University of New York (20-5-2)
United Collegiate Hockey Conference: Utica College (25-2-1)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point (19-5-4)

Curry College (21-5-1), the University of New England (19-6-2) and Norwich University (19-6-2) enter the field as the three at-large selections.

The semifinal and championship games will be web streamed live on

HISTORY: Click or tap here for the full list of past champions since 1984

In 2022, Adrian claimed its first title with a 5-2 win over SUNY Geneseo at the Olympic Center in Lake Placid, New York.

For more information about the 2023 Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, log on to

2023 Men's Frozen Four: Bracket, scores, schedule for the college hockey championship

Follow the 2023 DI men's ice hockey tournament all the way to the 2023 Frozen Four at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla.

Complete predictions for the 2023 NCAA DI men's hockey tournament

The field for the 2023 Division I men's ice hockey tournament has been officially revealed. Here are game-by-game predictions for the bracket.

2023 NCAA DI men's ice hockey championship selections

The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the 16 teams that will be participating in the 2023 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.