icehockey-men-d1 flag

Mark Bedics | | October 11, 2016

T.J. Moore of Holy Cross leads Three Stars

1. T.J. Moore, Holy Cross

  T.J. Moore was incredible for Holy Cross, scoring six goals and eight points in two games.
The junior forward from Edina, Minnesota, registered hat tricks in both of the Crusaders’ games on the weekend. On Friday night, Moore registered five points on three goals and two assists in an 8-2 victory against Niagara in Atlantic Hockey action. On Saturday, he tallied a hat trick in the first period as Holy Cross managed a 4-4 tie against the Purple Eagles. On the weekend, Moore finished with eight points, six goals, two assists, 11 shots on goal and a +4 rating. He became the first player in the program's Division I history to have two straight hat tricks. He is also the first player to have three career hat tricks, and only the third player in the program's Division I history to have a hat trick in a period.

2. Rob Nichols, UConn

  Rob Nichols made 44 saves while not allowing a goal in two games.
The Dallas native backstopped the Huskies to a pair of shutouts against Alabama Huntsville on the weekend. Nichols made 21 saves in Friday night’s 6-0 victory against the Chargers, then the senior followed that up with a 23-save performance in Saturday’s 4-0 shutout. He now has 10 shutouts for his career, the second most of any active Division I men’s goaltender. It is the first back-to-back shutouts for the Huskies program since January 10-15 of last year when Nichols blanked Arizona State and Maine in consecutive games.

3. Shane Starrett, Air Force

  Shane Starrett made 83 saves in the Icebreaker Tournament to win MVP honors.
The sophomore goaltender was named the Icebreaker Tournament Most Valuable Player after he led the Falcons to the tournament title. In Air Force’s opening-round game against fifth-ranked Boston College, the Bellingham, Massachusetts, native registered 37 saves as the Falcons knocked off the Eagles 2-1. In the championship game against Ohio State, he tallied 46 more saves to help Air Force to a 3-3 tie. In the shootout, Starrett did not give up a goal, allowing the Falcons to take the championship trophy to Colorado Springs.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners