Courtesy of Mercyhurst Athletics

Erie, Pa. – The No. 3 Mercyhurst College women’s hockey team made it seven titles in a row as the Lakers rolled past Wayne State, 6-1, in the College Hockey America championship game Saturday afternoon at the Mercyhurst Ice Center.

The Lakers, who now have won eight straight conference championships (seven CHA, one GLWHA) since 2001, set the school record for most consecutive wins at 15 and gave head coach Michael Sisti his 250th career victory.

Mercyhurst (29-5-0) secured the title by jumping out to a 4-1 lead in the first period. The Lakers tormented starting netminder Brianne Delayne by scoring three times on their first five shots. Junior captain Meghan Agosta, the 2009 CHA Player of the Year, started the run with her 37th of the season at 2:22 followed by tallies from freshman Meghan Corbett at 3:41 and freshman Kelley Steadman at 6:20.

After Delayne was pulled in favor of Amanda Park, freshman Jess Jones pushed the lead to four with her fourth of the tournament at 13:11.

Wayne State rounded out the first with a power-play marker from Natalie Payne at 16:17.

Despite the offensive surge in the opening frame, the Lakers were shutout for most of the second. Senior assistant captain Valerie Chouinard broke up drought when she connected off a pass from tournament MVP sophomore Jesse Scanzano with 32 seconds remaining. Scanzano finished the game with a game-high three assists to go along with her four points against Niagara.

Agosta closed out the contest with her second of the night and 38th of the season on the power-play at 13:46 of the third.

The Lakers held a 39-13 advantage in shots and converted 1-for-7 on the power-play. The Warriors, ranked second in the country with the extra-man, finished 1-for-8.

Freshman Hillary Patttenden made 12 saves to improve to 22-2-0 on the season and mark the third-highest single season win total in program history. Counterpart Park finished with 31 stops over 53:40.

With the conference tournament now in the books, the Lakers will wait to see if the NCAA selects them as a participant for the 2009 NCAA tournament. Selections are expected to be announced on Sunday, March 8 at 6:30 p.m.