March 7, 2009


Courtesy of St. Lawrence

Mar. 7: The Dartmouth College Big Green, seeded third in the ECAC Hockey Tournament, advanced to the conference championship game with an impressive 5-2 victory over second-seeded St. Lawrence on Saturday evening at the Bright Hockey Center in Cambridge, MA.  Dartmouth (19-9-4) used a three-goal first period en route to a 5-0 lead, and the Big Green will now square off with Rensselaer for the league’s automatic berth into the 2009 NCAA Tournament on Sunday.

St. Lawrence (24-10-3), which swept Dartmouth during the regular season, must now wait until Sunday evening to see if they are granted an at-large spot into the eight-team NCAA Tournament that begins next weekend.

Dartmouth’s Reagan Fischer wasted little time in getting her team on the scoreboard, as she beat St. Lawrence netminder Brittony Chartier at 2:25 of the opening period to put her team on top 1-0.  Sarah Toupal was credited with an assist on the tally.

The Big Green weren’t near finished in the first, though, as they scored twice in a span of 1:59 to take a commanding 3-0 lead through 20 minutes of hockey.  Shannon Bowman lit the lamp on the power play at 14:22, while Kelly Foley followed with a breakaway goal at 16:41 to cap the first period scoring and give Dartmouth all of the momentum.

After a nightmarish first period that saw Dartmouth outshoot them 10-5, St. Lawrence battled back and had several great chances to climb back into the game in the second stanza.  However, Big Green netminder Carli Clemis stopped each of the 10 shots she faced to keep the second period scoreless and protect her team’s 3-0 lead heading to the third period.

A pair of special teams goals midway through the final period all but put the game away for Dartmouth as they extended their lead to 5-0 with only 8:54 left in the game.  Jenna Cunningham scored an unassisted power play goal at 9:19 of the third, while Sarah Parson followed only 1:47 later with an unassisted, empty-net short-handed tally for the 5-0 lead.

St. Lawrence would finally break through on Clemis at 16:41 when senior assistant captain Alison Domenico scored her 16th goal of the season to make the game 5-1.  Though junior defenseman Courtney Sawchuk would add the team’s second goal at 18:23 of the third period while the Saints skated short-handed, it was too-little-too-late as Dartmouth clung to their lead and held on for a 5-2 win.

The Saints finished with a 28-25 advantage in shots on goal, but in a game that saw 16 penalties for 34 minutes, they were simply unable to overcome the large early deficit.


Rensselaer and Dartmouth will meet at 2:00pm tomorrow to determine the 2009 ECAC Hockey Tournament champion.  Meanwhile, the 2009 NCAA Tournament bracket will be released tomorrow evening after all of the conference championships have concluded.




Mar. 4: St. Lawrence University senior assistant captain Alison Domenico has been selected as ECAC Hockey’s “Best Defensive Forward” for 2009, receiving one of the conference’s major awards.  Domenico was also named a Second Team All-League forward, joining junior defenseman Britni Smith on that squad.

Domenico is second on the roster with 36 points on 15 goals and a team-high 21 assists.  Despite having scored 139 collegiate points in 151 games, the Nepean, ON native is known more for her defensive prowess as she has become an avid shot-blocker and penalty killer during her tenure with the Scarlet and Brown.  Her Second Team All-League selection was the first all-conference honors for Domenico.

“Ali (Domenico) is such a deserving recipient of this award as it truly signifies the way she plays the game,” said St. Lawrence head coach Chris Wells.  “She is such a gritty player on both ends of the ice and sacrifices herself defensively each and every game.”

Meanwhile, Smith is also a first time All-Conference honoree having earned a slot at defense on the Second Team.  The Port Perry, ON native is in the midst of a career-best season having already set new collegiate-highs in both goals (8) and points (21) while matcher her career-high in assists (13).  Smith has been a durable force on the blue line, playing in each of the team’s 36 games this year while tallying four power play goals and two game-winning tallies.

“Britni (Smith) has really come into her own offensively this season, as she’s scored so many clutch goals for us this season,” added Coach Wells.  “She’s played disciplined for us at the point having only taken six penalties and helps quarterback our power play.  She’s been integral to our success all season long.”

Joining Domenico and Smith on ECAC Hockey’s Second Team were Cornell’s Catherine White (F), Dartmouth’s Jenna Cunningham (F), Colgate’s Kiira Dosdall (D) and Harvard’s Christina Kessler (G).

The 2009 ECAC Hockey Player of the Year award went to Harvard’s Sarah Vaillancourt for the second straight season.  White was named the conference’s Rookie of the Year while Colgate netminder Kimberly Sass was voted the Goaltender of the Year.  Princeton’s Jeff Kampersal was tabbed the Coach of the Year while his player Katherine Dineen earned the hardware for Best Defensive Defenseman.  Finally, Union College was named the winner of the Turfer Athletic Trophy.

All of the All-Conference honorees and the major award winners will be recognized at the 2009 ECAC Hockey Awards Banquet on Friday, March 6 at 7:00pm at the Muir Center on the campus of Harvard University.


Each of the 2009 ECAC Hockey All-Conference teams are listed below.


First Team -- Sarah Vaillancourt (Harvard), Marie-Jo Gaudet (Clarkson), Rebecca Johnston (Cornell), Katherine Dineen (Princeton), Sasha Sherry (Princeton), Kimberly Sass (Colgate)


Second Team -- Catherine White (Cornell), Jenna Cunningham (Dartmouth), Alison Domenico (St. Lawrence), Kiira Dosdall (Colgate), Britni Smith (St. Lawrence), Christina Kessler (Harvard)


Third Team -- Jenny Brine (Harvard), Britney Selina (Clarkson), Amanda Trunzo (Dartmouth), Helen Resor (Yale), Carlee Eusepi (Clarkson), Nicole Stock (Brown)


Rookie Team -- Catherine White (Cornell), Alisa Harrison (Rensselaer), Juana Baribeau (Clarkson), Paige Pyett (Brown), Sierra Vadner (Rensselaer), Kimberly Sass (Colgate)