March 8, 2009


NCAA Release

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Women’s Ice Hockey Committee announced today the field of eight teams which will compete for the eighth NCAA Women’s Frozen Four. The 2009 Women’s Frozen Four will be hosted this year by Boston University, March 20 and 22, at Agganis Arena in Boston.

Eight teams are selected for the championship. Of the eight teams, the top four teams will be seeded.

Three conferences were awarded automatic bids for the 2009 tournament. The remaining five teams were selected at-large. The automatic qualifying conferences and their representatives are: the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA), University of Wisconsin, Madison; Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference (ECAC), Dartmouth College and Hockey East Association, the University of New Hampshire. Boston College, Mercyhurst College, University of Minnesota Duluth, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities and St. Lawrence University were all selected as at-large teams.

Two teams will compete at each of the four quarterfinal sites. Quarterfinals will be played Saturday, March 14, at four quarterfinal sites – Mercyhurst, Minnesota, New Hampshire and Wisconsin. The winning team from each quarterfinal will advance to the 2009 Women’s Frozen Four.

Wisconsin enters the tournament as the No. 1 seed and will host Dartmouth on Saturday, March 14 at 1 p.m. No. 2 seeded Minnesota will host Boston College on Saturday, March 14 at 4 p.m. Mercyhurst enters the tournament as the No. 3 seed, and will host St. Lawrence, March 14 at 3 p.m. New Hampshire, the No. 4 seed, will take on Minnesota Duluth on March 14 at 1 p.m. All times are local to the site.

Minnesota Duluth won the championship the first three years of the tournament (2001, 2002 and 2003), while the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities claimed the next two (2004 and 2005). In 2006, Wisconsin became the first team outside of the state of Minnesota to capture the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four title after defeating the Golden Gophers, 3-0 at Mariucci Arena in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Wisconsin again won the championship in 2007, defeating Minnesota Duluth 4-1 at Olympic Arena in Lake Placid, New York. Minnesota Duluth defeated Wisconsin 4-0 to win the 2008 championship.

The semifinal games will be played at 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, March 20 and streamed live on The championship game will be played live at noon Eastern time, Sunday, March 22, on CBS College Sports Network. For more information regarding the National Collegiate Women’s Ice Hockey Championship, log on to