Interactive Bracket  Printable Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Committee has announced the eight teams selected for the 2012 NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship. Of the eight teams selected, five received automatic qualification berths as winners of their conference championship. Three schools were selected from Pool C, which consists of schools from automatic-qualifying conferences that were not the conference champion.

ECAC East Hockey League Norwich
ECAC West Hockey League RIT
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Gustavus Adolphus
New England Small College Athletic Middlebury
Northern Collegiate Hockey Association Wisconsin-River Falls

The three at-large selections are Amherst College, Concordia College, Moorhead and Plattsburgh State University of New York.

Four first-round games will be played at campus sites March 9 or 10. Dates and times for these games will be announced later Monday. 

Based on Division III bracketing principles, teams are paired in the bracket based on 1) minimizing the number of flights; and 2) avoiding conference matchups in first-round games.  Following the first-round games, the host for the semifinals, third-place game and final will be determined based on the seed of the four advancing teams and minimization of flights. 

The four winners of the first-round games will play in the semifinals March 16, and the final and third-place game will be held March 17. The semifinals, third-place game and final will be streamed live on

In 2011, Norwich defeated RIT in Rochester, N.Y. to win its first Division III women's hockey title.