icehockey-women-nc flag

Boston College Athletics | October 31, 2013

No. 2 Eagles fall

CHESTNUT HILL, Mass. -- Haley Skarupa scored the lone goal for the Eagles as No. 2 Boston College fell to New Hampshire 3-1 on Wednesday night at Kelley Rink. The Wildcats got a goal and an assist from Nicole Gifford, while goaltender Vilma Vaattovaara made 36 saves to lead UNH to victory.

The Wildcats took an early 1-0 lead at 4:01 of the first period when senior Arielle O’Neill picked up her own rebound in front of the net, pulled the puck out of traffic, and flipped a back-handed shot into the net over the pads of Eagles goaltender Corinne Boyles.

New Hampshire doubled its lead at 13:05 of the first frame with a power-play goal from Gifford. The senior from Ennismore, Ontario swung the puck from the redline between Boyles’ legs and into the net to give UNH the 2-0 lead.

Skarupa cut the Wildcats’ lead in half with four seconds remaining the in the first period when she lifted a wrist-shot from the dot into the top of the net. Senior Taylor Wasylk assisted on the goal, digging the puck out of the boards and leading Skarupa towards the net for the open look.

Cassandra Vilgrain gave UNH a 3-1 lead with a power-play goal, the second of the game, at 18:23 of the middle stanza. She concluded the scoring when she rocketed a one-time slapshot into the net on a cross-ice pass by Gifford.

BC had several chances to score during the game but could not capitalize. With 41 seconds remaining in the first period, Kate Leary took an open shot from the slot but Vaattovaara made a great glove save. Next, Melissa Bizzari had a breakaway at 6:25 of the second period, but shot the puck wide of the net. Finally, Andie Anastos was denied her fourth goal of the year at 4:08 of the third period when she tried to sneak the puck through the legs of Vaattovaara, but the netminder adjusted just in time to make the save.

Special team played a big factor in the game, as UNH was 2-5 on the man advantage while BC went 0-6.

BC outshot UNH 37-27 in the contest.

Delaney Wolf of Saint Mary’s University named 2021 Hockey Humanitarian recipient

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota defenseman Delany Wolf has been named the 2021 Hockey Humanitarian Award winner.

Three finalists announced for 2021 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award

The winner of the 2021 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award will be announced March 27 on the NHL Network. The award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman at Princeton University.

2021 NC women's ice hockey championship field announced

The National Collegiate Women’s Ice Hockey Committee announced Sunday the field of eight teams that will compete in the 2021 National Collegiate Women’s Ice Hockey Championship.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners