icehockey-women-nc flag | February 26, 2015

Top 10 finalists revealed for Patty Kaz award

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- The USA Hockey Foundation today announced the top-10 finalists for the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. The honor is bestowed annually upon the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey and this year will be unveiled at a brunch ceremony at the McNamara Alumni Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota on Sat., March 21, as part of the NCAA Women's Frozen Four weekend hosted by the University of Minnesota.

The top-10 finalists include: junior (redshirt) goaltender Shelby Amsley-Benzie (Warroad, Minnesota/University of North Dakota); junior forward Hannah Brandt (Vadnais Heights, Minnesota/University of Minnesota); sophomore forward Dani Cameranesi (Plymouth, Minnesota/University of Minnesota); junior forward Alex Carpenter (North Reading, Massachusetts/Boston College); junior forward Kendall Coyne (Palos Heights, Illinois/Northeastern University); senior forward Brianne Jenner (Oakville, Ontario/Cornell University); senior defenseman Emily Pfalzer (Getzville, New York/Boston College); senior forward Marie-Philip Poulin (Beauceville, Quebec/Boston University); senior defenseman Rachel Ramsey (Chanhassen, Minnesota/University of Minnesota) and junior forward Haley Skarupa (Rockville, Maryland/Boston College). Complete player profiles are available here.

The selection process commenced earlier this month when NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches were asked to nominate players for the award. Players who were nominated by two or more coaches were then placed on an official ballot, which was sent back to the coaches to vote for the top-10 finalists. The independent accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, tabulated the ballots.

The three finalists, including the recipient of the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, will be chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and a representative of USA Hockey, the national governing body for the sport of ice hockey in the United States. The top-3 finalists will be announced on Thursday, March 5.

Tickets to the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Ceremony and Brunch can be purchased at Individual seats to the event are $65, while tables of 10 are available for $600. A select number of sponsorships and program advertisements are also available. More information can be found here. The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is supported, in part, by a grant from the NHL Foundation.

NOTES: Six schools are represented in the top-10, including three finalists from both Boston College and the University of Minnesota ... Among the top-10 finalists are seven forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender, including five juniors, four seniors and one sophomore ... Hannah Brandt was also a top-10 finalist in 2013 and 2014 ... The Hockey East Association leads all conferences with five finalists, while the Western Collegiate Hockey Association boast four finalists and ECAC Hockey is represented with one finalist ... For more information about the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, please visit

Name Year Position School
Shelby Amsley-Benzie Junior (redshirt) Goaltender University of North Dakota
Hannah Brandt Junior Forward University of Minnesota
Dani Cameranesi Sophomore Forward University of Minnesota
Alex Carpenter Junior Forward Boston College
Kendall Coyne Junior Forward Northeastern University
Brianne Jenner Senior Forward Cornell University
Emily Pfalzer Senior Defense Boston College
Marie-Philip Poulin Senior Forward Boston University
Rachel Ramsey Senior Defense University of Minnesota
Haley Skarupa Junior Forward Boston College

Women's hockey: Norby, No. 1 Wisconsin sweep No. 2 Minnesota

The No. 1 Wisconsin women's hockey team beat No. 2 Minnesota 3-0 on Saturday to complete a sweep of the weekend series.

Mailbag: Answering college hockey fans' questions for this season, so far

What’s wrong with the Wisconsin men’s team of late? How can the Ohio State women’s team consistently compete against the top of the WCHA? All those questions and many more are answered in this week’s college hockey mailbag.

Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation Announces 2020 nominees during 25th anniversary celebration

The Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation announced 13 nominees for the 2020 Hockey Humanitarian Award. The award, which is celebrating its 25th year, is presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners