icehockey-women-nc flag

Women's Beanpot Committee | January 18, 2018

Women's Beanpot 40th anniversary team announced

  Northeastern won its 15th Beanpot title in 2012. The Huskies have won 16 Beanpots, the most of any school.

The oldest women’s ice hockey tournament in North America is about to turn 40. College hockey’s Women’s Beanpot Tournament will unfold for the 40th time when teams from Boston College, Boston University, Harvard and Northeastern take the ice on Tuesday, Feb. 6, at Boston College’s Conte Forum. In conjunction with the milestone event, representatives from the four schools have selected a Women’s Beanpot 40th Anniversary Team. It is a starry group filled with All-Americans, Olympians and college players who stepped up in Beanpot play.

Northeastern, winners of 16 of the 39 tournaments played to date, leads the way with nine players among the 25 players recognized. Harvard, second with 14 championships, has eight honorees. BC and BU, with eight titles between them, have five and two all-stars, respectively.

MORE: Three women's hockey stars of the week | Latest poll

Jennifer Botterill (Harvard 2003) and Tina Cardinale Beauchemin (Northeastern 1989) have been named Honorary Captains of the squad. Botterill, twice a Patty Kazmaier winner (2001 and 2003) and Canadian Olympian, is the tournament’s career scoring leader. She won four Beanpots while at Harvard, is the only three-time MVP and became a Beanpot Hall of Famer in 2008. Cardinale Beauchemin led Northeastern to four Beanpots as well, earning MVP honors in 1988 and being inducted into the Beanpot Hall of Fame in 2016.

Among the other honorees are current UNH head coach Hilary Witt (Northeastern 2001); current U.S. Olympian Kendall Coyne (Northeastern 2016); two-time MVP Cheryl Tate (Harvard 1984); three-time Bertagna Goaltending Award winner and U.S. Olympian Molly Schaus (Boston College 2011); and Lisa Whitcomb Huckins, MVP of Boston University's only title in 1981.

Named to the position of Honorary Coach is Don MacLeod, head coach at Northeastern from 1981-92, where he won the Beanpot eight times in eight consecutive seasons.

The honorees will be recognized between games of the first night of this year’s tournament.

40th Anniversary All- Women's Beanpot Team
Name School (Grad Year) Notes
Jennifer Botterill* Harvard (2003) MVP : 2001, 2002, 2003; 4 Beanpots
Tina Cardinale Beauchemin* Northeastern (1989) MVP: 1988; HOF 2016; 4 Beanpots
Julie Chu Harvard (2007) HOF: 2013; 2 Beanpots
Nicole Corriero Harvard (2005) MVP: 2005; HOF 2012; 4 Beanpots
Kendall Coyne Northeastern (2016) MVP: 2013; 2 Beanpots
Meghan Fardelmann Boston College (2009) MVP: 2007; HOF 2017; 3 Beanpots
Deb Gautreau Parece Boston University (1983) HOF: 2010; 1 Beanpot
Shelley Looney Northeastern (1995) MVP: 1994; 2 Beanpots
Fiona Rice Northeastern (1990) MVP: 1987; 4 Beanpots
Tammy Shewchuk Dryden Harvard (2001) HOF: 2010; 2 Beanpots
Deb Spillane Boston College (2008) MVP: 2006; HOF 2014; 2 beanpots
Kelli Stack Boston College (2011) MVP: 2009; 3 Beanpots
Jill Toney Northeastern (1986) HOF: 2014; 3 Beanpots
Sarah Vaillancourt Harvard (2009) HOF: 2015; 1 Beanpot
Hilary Witt Northeastern (2001) HOF: 2010; All-time W Beanpot assist leader
Name School/Grad Year Notes
Nina Koyama Northeastern (1989) MVP: 1986; 4 Beanpots
Donna-Lynn Rosa Northeastern (1990) 4 Beanpots
Carroll McCaffrey Willa Boston College (1999) HOF: 2012
Angela Ruggiero Harvard (2005) MVP: 2004; HOF: 2016
Liza Ryabkina Harvard (2010) MVP: 2010; 2 Beanpots
Maggie Taverna Boston College (2009) HOF: 2016; 3 Beanpots
Name School/Grad Year Notes
Kelly Dyer Hayes Northeastern (1990) HOF: 2013; 4 Beanpots
Molly Schaus Boston College (2011) Bertagna Award: 2007, 2009, 2011; 3 Beanpots
Cheryl Tate Harvard (1984) MVP: 1982, 1983; HOF: 2009; 2 Beanpots
Lisa Whitcomb Huckins Boston University (1981) MVP: 1981; HOF 2009; 1 Beanpot
Name School/Years Notes
Don MacLeod Northeastern (1981-92) 8 Beanpots

* Denotes Co-Captains

Here is this year's schedule (All games at Boston College's Conte Forum):

Tuesday, February 6

Harvard vs. Boston University, 5 p.m. ET

Boston College vs. Northeastern, 8 p.m. ET

Tuesday, February 13

Consolation Game, 4:30 p.m. ET

Championship Game, 7:30 p.m. ET

Maine's Adrianna Smith leads this week's women's basketball Starting Five

A pair of 30-point performances earned Maine's Adrianna Smith a spot on this week's women's basketball Starting Five.

Northeastern and Boston College claim conference wins at Fenway Park

In the return of Frozen Fenway, the two Boston-based schools left America's oldest ballpark with impressive wins.

Every men's college hockey player in the 2023 World Junior Championship

The 2023 World Junior Championship begins next week in Canada as the top under-20 men's ice hockey players from around the world represent their nations in search of gold and glory.