icehockey-women-nc flag

Molly Sequin | | October 12, 2018

Most NCAA women's hockey championships

Clarkson wins the 2017 NC Women's Ice Hockey Championship

The first women's college hockey national championship was played in 2001 between Minnesota-Duluth and St. Lawrence in Minneapolis. But in its 17 years of existence, only four teams have finished the season with "national champions' as their title.

Here are the women's college hockey teams who have the most national championships — and have absolutely dominated the sport.

Clarkson — 3

NCAA Photos Clarkson has three national championships. Clarkson has three national championships.

Championships: 2014, 2017, 2018

It's no surprise Clarkson women's hockey entered the 2018-19 season at No. 1 in the rankings. The Golden Knights won the 2018 national championship 2-1 in overtime versus Colgate. They finished the season with an impressive 36-4-1 record. Clarkson also took the title in 2017, topping another women's hockey powerhouse, Wisconsin, 3-0. Their other championship came in a 5-4 win over Minnesota in 2014. Clarkson has been on the rise, and it doesn't look like they're slowing down any time soon. 

MORE: Three players inducted into US Hockey Hall of Fame

Wisconsin — 4 

Harry Scull Jr. | NCAA Photos The Badgers' last title came in 2011. The Badgers' last title came in 2011.

Championships: 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011

The Badgers haven't won a national championship since 2011, but they started the 2018-19 season ranked as No. 2 behind Clarkson. Is this the year Wisconsin returns to the top? Wisconsin's first two national championships were border battles against Minnesota and Minnesota-Duluth. In 2009, they topped Mercyhurst in a high-scoring 5-0 final. The 2011 season brought a 4-1 victory over Boston University.

MORE: Olympic hero Maddie Rooney returns to UMD ready to tackle the season

Minnesota-Duluth — 5

Carlos Gonzalez | NCAA Photos Minnesota-Duluth has five national championships. Minnesota-Duluth has five national championships.

Championships: 2001, 2002, 2003, 2008, 2010

Minnesota-Duluth holds five national championships, coming in just behind the state's flagship university. The Bulldogs have participated in — and won — perhaps two of the most nerve-wracking championship games. In 2003, UMD pulled off a 4-3, double overtime win over Harvard in their very own city. The 2010 championship called for three overtimes, with UMD finally topping Cornell 3-2. That game was played in Minneapolis, meaning there were probably a lot of Duluth fans in the house routing for the home team. UMD also claimed the first two national championships ever played, as well as the 2008 title.

Minnesota — 6

Gil Talbot | NCAA Photos Minnesota has more championships than any other program. Minnesota has more championships than any other program.

Championships: 2004, 2005, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016

The Minnesota Gophers are the queens of college hockey. They've won five national championships, including the two highest-scoring title games in the history of the sport. In 2004, the Gophers topped Harvard 6-2. Then, in 2013, they knocked off Boston University 6-3 for the title — this is also the only team who has gone undefeated through the national championship, finishing at 41-0-0. The also ended the 2005, 2012, 2015, and 2016 seasons at the top.

Women's college hockey championships from 2001 to 2018.

2018 Clarkson (36-4-1) 2-1 (OT) Colgate Minneapolis, Minn.
2017 Clarkson (32-4-5) 3-0 Wisconsin St. Charles, Mo.
2016 Minnesota (35-4) 3-1 Boston College Durham, N.H.
2015 Minnesota (34-3-4) 4-1 Harvard Minneapolis
2014 Clarkson (31-5-5) 5-4 Minnesota Hamden, Conn.
2013 Minnesota (41-0-0) 6-3 Boston University Minneapolis
2012 Minnesota (33-5-2) 4-2 Wisconsin Duluth, Minn.
2011 Wisconsin (37-2-2) 4-1 Boston University Erie, Pa.
2010 Minnesota-Duluth (31-8-2) 3-2 (3OT) Cornell Minneapolis
2009 Wisconsin (33-2-5) 5-0 Mercyhurst Boston
2008 Minnesota-Duluth (34-4-1) 4-0 Wisconsin Duluth, Minn.
2007 Wisconsin (36-1-4) 4-1 Minnesota-Duluth Lake Placid, N.Y.
2006 Wisconsin (36-4-1) 3-0 Minnesota Minnesota
2005 Minnesota (36-2-2) 4-3 Harvard New Hampshire
2004 Minnesota (30-4-2) 6-2 Harvard Providence
2003 Minnesota-Duluth (31-3-2) 4-3 (2OT) Harvard Duluth, Minn.
2002 Minnesota-Duluth (24-6-4) 3-2 Brown Durham, N.H.
2001 Minnesota-Duluth (28-5-4) 4-2 St. Lawrence Minneapolis

2019-20 CCM/AHCA Division I men's hockey All-Americans announced

Sixteen different NCAA Division I hockey programs were represented on this year's CCM/AHCA Hockey All-American teams. Minnesota Duluth led the way with four honorees, followed by three selections from Minnesota State.

Clarkson's Giguere named 2020 Patty Kazmaier Award winner

On March 27, Clarkson junior forward Elizabeth Giguere was named the 23rd recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award after leading the nation in goals scored.

Women's hockey awards: 2020 finalists named for Patty Kazmaier Award

On March 3, the 2020 finalists were announced for the 23rd annual Patty Kazmeier Memorial Award, presented to the top player in National Collegiate women's ice hockey.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners