icehockey-women-d3 flag

NCAA | March 9, 2020

2020 DIII women’s ice hockey championship selections announced

DIII Women's Ice Hockey: 2020 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Committee has announced the 10 teams selected for the 2020 NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship. Of the 10 teams in the championship field, seven of the teams received automatic qualification berths as winners of their conference championship. Three institutions were selected from Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that were not the conference champion and independent institutions.

Conferences and teams receiving automatic qualification:
Colonial Hockey Conference — Endicott
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference — Gustavus Adolphus
New England Hockey Conference — Norwich
New England Small College Athletic Conference — Amherst
Northeast Women’s Hockey League — Plattsburgh State
United Collegiate Hockey Conference — Elmira
Women's Northern Collegiate Hockey Association — Adrian

BRACKET: View the interactive and printable bracket

The three institutions selected from Pool C were Middlebury, Wisconsin-Eau Claire and Wisconsin-River Falls.

Two first-round games will be played on March 11 and four quarterfinal games will be played on March 14. All tournament games will be played on campus sites. Dates and times for these games will be announced later today. The host for the championship final will be confirmed Saturday night, March 14, after the conclusion of the quarterfinal games. The semifinals will take place at one of the four remaining institutions on March 20 and the third-place game and championship game March 21. For more information, including live webcasting of the semifinals, third-place game and final, visit

In 2019, Plattsburgh State defeated Hamline 4-0 in Mendota Heights, Minnesota to win its seventh overall NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship title.

Women's college hockey rankings: Minnesota jumps into No. 1 spot on latest Power 10 after sweep of Wisconsin

In the latest women's college hockey Power 10 rankings, Minnesota goes into the No. 1 spot after its sweep of former-No. 1 Wisconsin.

No. 5 Minnesota women's hockey sweeps top-ranked Wisconsin

The No. 5 Minnesota women's hockey team completed its first sweep over top-ranked Wisconsin since 2016 with a 4-3 victory on Saturday afternoon at Ridder Arena.

Minnesota women's hockey beats top-ranked Wisconsin for second time this season

Minnesota hands top-ranked Wisconsin its second loss of the season at Ridder Arena on Friday night.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners