April 23, 2009

Courtesy of The ACC

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Five 2009 Tewaaraton Trophy nominees highlight this year’s All-ACC Men’s Lacrosse Team as announced Thursday evening by the league office.
Crotty, who currently ranks second in the nation in assists per game, was also named the 2009 All-ACC men’s lacrosse Player of the Year. The native of New Vernon, N.J., is currently the top scorer in the league and ranks sixth in the nation with 49 points through 13 games.  The senior midfielder eclipsed the 100-career point mark this season and currently has 59 goals and 65 assists for 124 points to his name. He currently ranks 24th all-time in career points and needs just 12 more assists to break into the top-10 list.
Joining Crotty on the league’s postseason team are North Carolina’s Billy Bitter and Virginia’s Shamel Bratton, Danny Glading and Mike Timms. All five were nominated for the nation’s highest lacrosse honor, the Tewaaraton Trophy, which is awarded annually to the top men’s lacrosse player in the country.
All four ACC programs were represented on this year’s All-ACC team, while the Cavaliers placed a league-high four representatives to the 2009 squad, which is determined by a vote of the league’s four head coaches.
Earning the ACC Freshman of the Year honor is Virginia’s rookie attackman Steele Stanwick. The top-ranked recruit in the nation according to Inside Lacrosse last year, has started all 14 games for the Cavs, registering 29 goals, 13 assists and 35 ground balls.
This year’s Coach of the Year honors went to Virginia’s Dom Starsia, who holds a 298-109 overall career record and a 197-63 mark in his 16 years at the helm of the Cavaliers. Starsia, who was inducted into the Lacrosse Hall of Fame last fall, has led his Cavalier squads to three of the school’s four NCAA titles and has won the most games in school history and most games in ACC history.
The 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Championship will begin Friday, April 24, on the campus of North Carolina in Chapel Hill, N.C. Maryland locked in the number one seed in the upcoming two-day event, which will be held at the Tar Heels’ Kenan Stadium. The Terrapins, who own a 6-4 overall record and a 2-1 league mark, will take on fourth-seed and host North Carolina on Friday at 5 p.m. ET in semifinals action, while No. 2 seed Duke and No. 3 seed Virginia square off at 7:30 p.m.
For more information about the 2009 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship, please visit TheACC.com.
2009 All-ACC Honors
        Ned Crotty Senior  Attack  Duke
        Max Quinzani    Junior  Attack  Duke
        Dan Groot       Senior  Midfield        Maryland
        Max Schmidt     Sophomore       Defense Maryland
        Ryan Young      Sophomore       Attack  Maryland
        Billy Bitter    Sophomore       Attack  North Carolina
        Shane Walterhoefer      Senior  Midfield        North Carolina
        Shamel Bratton  Sophomore       Midfield        Virginia
        Brian Carroll   Junior  Midfield        Virginia
        Danny Glading   Senior  Attack  Virginia
        Mike Timms      Grad.    Midfield        Virginia
        Player of the Year:      Ned Crotty      Duke
        Freshman of the Year:   Steele Stanwick Virginia
        Coach of the Year:       Dom Starsia     Virginia