May 3, 2009


Printable Bracket | Interactive Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2009 NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship.

The championship provides for a 21-team tournament.  Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 14 conference champions, which form “Pool A.”  Three teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B).  The remaining four teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C).  The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.  

Except for the championship game, all games will be played on the campus of one of the competing teams.  This year’s finalists will advance to Foxborough, Massachusetts, for the championship game at Gillette Stadium, which will be played at noon, May 24, and televised live by CBS College Sports Network.  That game will be followed by the Division II championship at 3 p.m., also at Gillette Stadium and live on CBS College Sports Network.  The Division I semifinals and championship are May 23 and 25 at the same site.

For ticket information for all games in Foxborough, go to.
For more information about the NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship, log on to
In 2008, Salisbury University captured its eighth championship title by defeating the State University College at Cortland 19-13.  

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification (AQ):

NORTH REGION - Automatic Qualifiers
Commonwealth Coast Conference - Western New England  (16-2)
Empire 8 - Nazareth  (11-6)
Liberty League - St. Lawrence  (12-3)
Little East Conference - Eastern Conn. St.  (14-3)
New England Small College Athletic Conference - Wesleyan (CT)  (14-3)
North Atlantic Conference - Mount Ida  (13-6)
Pilgrim League - Springfield  (11-6)
Skyline Conference - Montclair St.  (13-4)
State University of New York Athletic Conference - Cortland St.  (15-2)

SOUTH REGION - Automatic Qualifiers
Capital Athletic Conference - Salisbury  (15-3)
Centennial Conference - Gettysburg  (13-3)
Colonial States Athletic Conference - Cabrini  (14-3)
Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletic Corporation - FDU-Florham  (13-4)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference - Wash. & Lee  (15-3)

Denison  (12-2)
Merchant Marine  (11-5)        
Ohio Wesleyan  (10-4)        
Haverford  (13-3)
Middlebury  (13-2)
Roanoke  (17-1)
Stevenson  (15-1)
Tufts  (13-4)