May 3, 2009


Printable Bracket | Interactive Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament today.

The 16-team field includes seven conference champions with automatic qualification - American East Conference (UMBC), Colonial Athletic Association (Villanova), Eastern College Athletic Conference (Massachusetts), Great Western Lacrosse League (Notre Dame), Ivy League (Cornell), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Siena) and Patriot League (Navy).  The remainder of the field was selected at large:  Brown, Duke, Hofstra, Johns Hopkins, Maryland, North Carolina, Princeton, Syracuse and Virginia.

The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts, May 23-25.  The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at noon Eastern time, May 23.  The championship game will be televised live on ESPN starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time, May 25.

The championship hosts are Harvard University and the Eastern College Athletic Conference.  This is one of only two NCAA team sports, along with women's rowing, that holds the championships of all three divisions at a common site.  The 2010 championship will be held in Baltimore.

For ticket information for all games at Gillette Stadium, May 23-25, call 617/931-2222.