May 3, 2009

Courtesy America East

BALTIMORE - Exactly one day short of a year ago, UMBC's Ryan Smith ruptured his ACL in the America East Men's Lacrosse Championship game. This year, his four points paced the Retrievers to an 11-7 victory over Stony Brook and the program's second straight conference title and third in the last five years.

The win also clinched UMBC's fourth straight trip to the NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship. The field for will be announced on Sunday night at 9 p.m. on ESPNU.

Mike Camardo, who tallied a pair of goals, 12 ground balls and four caused turnovers in the championship was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player. He was joined by teammates Jeremy Blevins, Justin Radebaugh and Smith on the All-Championship team.

Stony Brook (9-6) led 2-1 early in the first quarter after scores from Kevin Crowley and Tom Compitello. But, UMBC used precise offense and suffocating defense to stage an 8-0 run and grow a 9-2 lead with 4:02 left in the third quarter. Matt Latham tallied three goals during that stretch, while Hopmann and Smith each added a pair.

The Seawolves came back with five of the game's next seven scores, including three from Crowley, who finished with four and was named to the All-Championship squad. UMBC's defense, which held SBU to under 10 goals for the first time in seven games, held on to clinch the program's fourth straight NCAA appearance.

Crowley was joined by teammates Robbie Campbell and Steve Waldeck on the All-Championship team. Campbell tallied a pair of goals, while Waldeck had five ground balls.

UMBC (12-3), which tied its previous school record for wins in a season, outshot its opponent 49-31, including 34-7 in the first half.

All Championship Team
Brian Caufield, Albany
Corey Small, Albany
Larry Kline, Binghamton
Chris Mulheron, Binghamton
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook
Chris Gignilliat, Stony Brook
Steve Waldeck, Stony Brook
Jeremy Blevins, UMBC
Mike Camardo, UMBC (MOP)
Justin Radebaugh, UMBC
Ryan Smith, UMBC