Feb. 12, 2010

Courtesy of Lowe's

(Overland Park, KS) – Twenty NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were tabbed as candidates today for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

This year’s candidate class includes 13 student-athletes on teams ranked in the Nike/Inside Lacrosse media preseason top 20 poll. In addition, nine candidates are on the preseason Inside Lacrosse Face-Off Yearbook Division I All-American list. Six candidates own cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 or better.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the 2010 Senior CLASS Award™ winner at the NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore May 29-31.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition.

“The lacrosse candidates represent a diverse cross-section of universities and a wide array of academic courses of study,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “But the common denominator is a passion for their sport and for finishing their careers as students and athletes at the top.”

This marks the fourth year for the men’s lacrosse division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Cornell University midfielder Max Seibald received the award for the 2009 season and Syracuse University attackman Mike Leveille took home the 2008 honor. In 2007, Cornell goalkeeper Matt McMonagle won the inaugural men’s lacrosse award.

Lacrosse 2010 Candidates

Name Position School
Colin Ambler Attack Drexel University
Gavin Buckley Goalkeeper St. John's University
Ken Clausen Defense University of Virginia
Kevin Curtin Attackman Hobart College
Chris Daniello Attack Syracuse University
Pierce Derkac Long-Stick Midfielder Cornell University
Charley Dickenson Midfield University of Denver
Jason Duboe Midfielder Harvard University
Ridge Flick Attack U.S. Air Force Academy
Brent Herbst Goalie Siena College
Ryan Hurley Attack Cornell University
Michael Kimmel Midfield Johns Hopkins University
Andrew Maisano Midfield United States Military Academy
Sean McCoy Goalie Virginia Military Institute
Scott Monfort Long stick defensive midfield Bucknell University
Thomas Muldoon Attackman Brown University
Brian Phipps Goalie University of Maryland
Max Quinzani Attack Duke University
Scott Rodgers Goalie University of Notre Dame
Kyle Wimer Midfield UMBC